# **APPENDIX 2**

## **Public Hearings and Witnesses**

#### PERTH, 8 November 2010

ANWYL, Ms Megan Irene, Executive Director, Magnetite Network

BALL, Mr Morgan Scott, Chief Finance Officer and Company Secretary, BC Iron Ltd

BENNISON, Mr Simon, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Mining and Exploration Companies

COURT, Mr Michael John Reginald, Executive Director Economic, Department of Treasury and Finance

EDWARDS, Mr James Rhys, Executive Officer, Economics and Tax, Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia

FLANAGAN, Mr David Nathan, Managing Director, Atlas Iron Ltd

FORREST, Mr John Andrew Henry, Chief Executive Officer, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd

HARRISON, Mr David, General Manager, Advocacy, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia

HUGHES, Mr Marcus Paul, Group Tax Manager, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd

MACKENZIE, Mr William Ross (Bill), Chairman, Magnetite Network

MARNEY, Mr Timothy, Under Treasurer, Department of Treasury and Finance

NEWTON, Mr Robert Geoffrey, Executive Officer, Media and Public Affairs, Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia

NICOLAOU, Mr John, Chief Officer, Membership and Advocacy, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia

PEARCE, Mr Stephen Thomas, Chief Financial Officer, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd

PETERSEN, Mr Anthony Edward, Chairman, DomGas Alliance

RICHARDS, Mr Noel, Senior Policy Adviser, Resources and Energy, Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia

#### Page 182

SHORT, Mr Graham, National Policy Manager, Association of Mining and Exploration Companies

STREITBERG, Mr Eric Charles, Executive Director, Buru Energy Limited

TAPP, Mr Julian Robin Paul, Director, Strategy, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd

WILLMOTT, Ms Deidre Ellen, Group Manager, Approvals and Government Relations, Fortescue Metals Group Ltd

#### **MELBOURNE, 19 November 2010**

ARMSTRONG, Mr Graham T, Senior Associate, National Institute of Economic and Industry Research

GARNAUT, Professor Ross Gregory, Private capacity

HOGAN, Ms Lindsay, Senior Economist, Resource, Energy and Trade, Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics, Bureau of Rural Sciences

MANNING, Dr Ian Geoffrey, Deputy Executive Director, National Institute of Economic and Industry Research

MORAN, Dr Alan John, Director, Deregulation Unit, Institute of Public Affairs

MORRIS, Mr Paul, Deputy Executive Director, Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics, Bureau of Rural Sciences

#### CANBERRA, 22 November 2010

HENRY, Dr Ken, Secretary, Department of the Treasury

PARKER, Mr David John, Executive Director, Revenue Group, Department of the Treasury

### **MELBOURNE, 8 December 2010**

BOND, Mr Gerard, Head of Group Human Resources, BHP Billiton

DELANEY, Mr Bernie, Vice President, Government Relations, BHP Billiton

LYONS, Mr Ross, General Manager, Taxation, Rio Tinto .

O'NEILL, Mr Mark, Chief Adviser, Government Relations, Rio Tinto

### CANBERRA, 9 December 2010

CARLTON, Mr Tim, Director, Commonwealth Grants Commission

SPASOJEVIC, Mr John, Secretary, Commonwealth Grants Commission

#### SYDNEY, 13 December 2010

CHAIT, Mr Louis Alan, General Manager Business Analysis and Planning, Xstrata Coal

FREYBERG, Mr Peter, Chief Executive, Xstrata Coal

McCARTHY, Ms Cassandra, Group Manager Government Relations and Climate Change, Xstrata Coal

PAPE, Mr Bryan, Senior Lecturer, School of Law, University of New England

### MELBOURNE, 30 March 2011

ERGAS, Professor Henry, Professor of Infrastructure Economics, University of Wollongong.

FANE, Adjunct Professor George, Australian National Universit

FREEBAIRN, Professor John William, Ritchie Professor, University of Melbourne

PINCUS, Professor Jonathan James, Visiting Professor, University of Adelaide

ROLFE, Professor John, Professor in Regional Development Economics, Central Queensland University