The Senate

Select Committee on the Scrutiny of New Taxes

Interim Report -

The Carbon Tax:

Economic pain for no environmental gain

© Commonwealth of Australia 2011

ISBN 978-1-74229-528-2

Senate Select Committee on Scrutiny of New Taxes Secretariat

Mr Shon Fletcher, Secretary

Ms Sandra Kennedy, Principal Research Officer

Mr Michael Azize, Principal Research Officer

Ms Aleshia Bailey, Research Officer

Mr Hugh Griffin, Administrative Officer

Ms Hana Jones, Administrative Officer

Ms Morana Kavgic, Administrative Officer

The Senate Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Ph: 02 6277 3269 Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: newtaxes@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/Senate/committee/scrutinynewtaxes_ctte/index.htm

This document was produced by the Senate Select Committee on Scrutiny of New Taxes Secretariat and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Senate Select Committee on Scrutiny of New Taxes 43rd Parliament

Membership of the committee

Senator Mathias Cormann, Chair Western Australia, LP Senator Doug Cameron New South Wales, ALP

Deputy Chair from 22.07.11

Senator Matt Thistlethwaite New South Wales, ALP

Deputy Chair from 07.07.11 to 15.07.11 Senator David Bushby Tasmania, LP Senator Mitch Fifield Victoria, LP

Senator John Madigan, from 07.07.11 Victoria, DLP

Senator John Williams New South Wales, NATS

Substitute Members

Senator Ron Boswell to replace Senator David Bushby for 23 to 24 September 2011

42nd Parliament

Members

Senator Mathias Cormann, Chair Western Australia, LP Senator Steve Hutchins, Deputy Chair to 30.06.11 New South Wales, ALP

Senator David Bushby Tasmania, LP

Senator Doug Cameron New South Wales, ALP

Senator Mitch Fifield Victoria, LP

Senator John Williams New South Wales, NATS

Participating members for this inquiry

Senator Ron Boswell Queensland, NATS Western Australia, LP Senator Michaelia Cash

Senator Gary Humphries ACT, LP

Senator Brett Mason Queensland, LP

South Australia, IND Senator Nick Xenophon