© Commonwealth of Australia 2009

ISBN 978-1-74229-438-4

This document was prepared by the Senate Standing Committee on Rural Affairs & Transport and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

Membership of the committee

Members

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan, Chair Senator Glenn Sterle, Deputy Chair Senator Julian McGauran Senator Christine Milne Senator Fiona Nash Senator Kerry O'Brien New South Wales, LP Western Australia, ALP Victoria, LP Tasmania, AG New South Wales, NATS Tasmania, ALP

Participating members participating in this inquiry

Senator Chris Back Senator the Hon. Richard Colbeck Senator Nick Xenophon Western Australia, LP Tasmania, LP South Australia, IND

Secretariat

Ms Jeanette Radcliffe, Secretary Mr Ivan Powell, Principal Research Officer/Acting Secretary from 4 April 2011 Ms Trish Carling, Senior Research Officer Ms Ruimin Gao, Research Officer (Senate Graduate Program) Ms Lauren McDougall, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3511 Fax: 02 6277 5811 E-mail: rat.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/rat_ctte/index.htm