Appendix 2

Witnesses who appeared before the Committee at the public hearings

Tuesday, 10 June 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

Sheepmeat Council of Australia

Mr Christopher Groves, President Mr Bernie O'Sullivan, Executive Director

Australian Meat Industry Council

Mr Christian Mulders, Manager, Livestock and Product Integrity Mr Jack Barclay, Councillor, Export Sheep, Lamb and Goat Council

Meat and Livestock Australia Limited

Mr Scott Hansen, General Manager, Corporate Communications Mr David Thomason, General Manger, Marketing

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Mr Simon Murnane, General Manager, Meat, Wool and Dairy Branch Mr Richard Souness, General Manager, Food Policy and Safety Branch Mr Philip Smurthwaite, Manager, Meat and Livestock Policy

Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service

Mr Greg Read, Executive Manager, Exports Mr Colin Hunter, National Manager, Food Exports Dr Mark Schipp, General Manager, Animal Products

Southern Meats Limited

Mr Neville Newton, Managing Director

Fletcher International Exports

Mr Roger Fletcher, Managing Director

Cowra Meat Processors, Breakout River

Mr Chris Cummins, Managing Director

Aus-Meat Limited

Dr Denis Brett, General Manager, AUS-MEAT Standards and Technical Operations

M.C. Herd Pty Ltd

Mr Francis Herd (Frank), Managing Director

NSW Food Authority

Mr Peter Day, Manager, Audit and Compliance

Wednesday, 9 July 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Mr Nigel Ridgway, General Manager, Compliance Strategies Branch

Western Australian Meat Industry Authority

Ms Renata Paliskis-Bessell, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director Mr David Saunders, Projects and Operations Manager Mr John Donaldson, Compliance Officer

Safe Food Production Queensland

Mr Geoff Gorrie, Chair

Tuesday, 17 March 2009 Parliament House Canberra

RSPCA

Ms Heather Neil, CEO Ms Melina Tensen, Scientific Officer Farm Animals

Australian Pork Ltd

Ms Kathleen Plowman, General Manager Policy

Australian Food and Grocery Council

Dr Geoffrey Annison, Deputy CEO Mr Kim Leighton, Director, Food Policy and Regulation

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Mr Simon Murnane, General Manager, Livestock Industries Mr Greg Williamson, General Manager, Food Branch Mr Kieran Macdonell, Manager, Meat and Livestock Policy Ms Usha Sriram-Prasad, Manager, Food Regulation and Safety Mr Ryan Wilson, Policy Officer, Food Policy

Australian Beef Association

Mr John Carter

Thursday, 26 March 2009 Cliftons Conference Centre Melbourne

Polkinghornes

Mr Rod Polkinghorne

King Island Brand Management Group

Ms Jenny Thorn, Economic Development Officer King Island Council Ms Lydia Horsburgh, Chairperson King Island Brand Group Mr Roger Clemons, Member King Island Brand Group

Australian Branded Beef Association

Mr Michael Pointer, President

Hereford Prime

Mr Dan Morice, Director

Certified Australian Angus Beef

Mr Phil Morley, CEO

Animals Australia

Ms Glenys Oogjes, Executive Director