

THE SENATE **Senate Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport**

Inquiry into Coorong and the Lower Lakes

PROGRAM Tuesday 9 September 2008 – Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House – CANBERRA

| Time | Witness |
|----------|---|
| 9.00 am | Department of Environment ,Water Heritage and the Arts Mr Tony Slatyer, FAS, Water Reform Division Ms Mary Harwood, First Assistant Secretary, Water Efficiency Division Mr Mark Flanigan, Assistant Secretary, Approvals and Wildlife Division |
| 9:30 am | CSIRO Dr Tom Hatton Director Water for Healthy Country Flagship Dr Bill Young Principal Research Scientist Water Quality and Environmental Flows Research Group CSIRO Land and Water |
| 10.45 am | Morning Tea Break |
| 11.00 am | NSW Irrigators Council Mr Andrew Gregson, Chief Executive Officer |
| 11.45 am | Department of Natural Resources and Water (Qld) (Via Teleconference) Mr Scott Spencer, Director-General Mr Greg Claydon, Executive Director, Strategic Water Initiatives Ms Debbie Best, Deputy Director, General Water and Catchment Services |
| 12.30 pm | Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council Community Advisory Committee Mr Lee O'Brien, Chair |
| 1.15 pm | Lunch Break |
| 2.15 pm | National Farmers Federation Water Taskforce Mr Laurie Arthur Ms Deb Kerr |
| 3.00 pm | Mr Don Blackmore |
| 3.45 pm | Afternoon Tea Break |
| 4.00 pm | Mainstream Environmental Consulting Dr Bill Phillips |
| 4.45 pm | Adjournment of Hearing |

Observers: Ms Sanda Volk, Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council Advisory Committee