Appendix 2

Witnesses who appeared before the Committee at the Public Hearings

Monday, 30 June 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

CSIRO

Dr Mark Howden, Theme Leader, Climate Adaptation Flagship

Bureau of Meteorology

Dr Michael Coughlan, Chief Climatologist Dr Scott Power, Principal Research Scientist

Mr Tim Wiley (Private capacity)

Mr Robert Wilson (Private capacity)

Australian Soil Carbon Accreditation Scheme

Dr Christine Jones, Founder

Land and Water Australia

Dr Michael Robinson, Executive Director, and Chair, Joint Strategy Team, National Climate Change Research Strategy for Primary Industries
Dr Sam Nelson, Executive Officer, Corporate Strategy

Murray Darling Basin Commission

Mr Jason Alexandra, Director, Water Policy Coordination Ms Katrina Maguire, Senior Manager, Climate Change Program

Future Farm Industries CRC

Mr Kevin Goss, Chief Executive Officer

CRC for Australian Weed Management

Associate Professor Christopher Preston, Program Leader

National Association of Forest Industries

Mr Allan Hansard, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David de Jongh, Senior Forest Policy Analyst

The Green Institute

Ms Margaret Blakers, Coordinator

Tuesday, 1 July 2008 Parliament House CANBERRA

Meat and Livestock Australia

Dr Beverly Henry, Manager Environment, Sustainability and Climate Change Dr Ian Johnsson, General Manager, Livestock Production Innovation

Cattle Council of Australia

Mr Greg Brown, Acting President

Mr David Inall, Executive Director

Mr Jed Matz, Policy Director

Mr Hamish Munro, Councillor (NSW)

The Agricultural Alliance on Climate Change

Ms Nicolette Boele, Director, Strategic Projects

National Farmers Federation

Mr Ben Fargher, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Charles McElhone, Manager, Economics

Ms Deborah Kerr, Natural Resource Management

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Professor Michael Young, Research Chair, Water Economics and Management

Department of Water Western Australia

Mr John Ruprecht, Director, Water Resource Management

Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries, Queensland

Mr Jim Groves, General Manager, Climate and Resource Policy

Ms Marion Murphy, Senior Policy Officer, Climate and Resource Policy

Department of Primary Industries, Victoria

Mr Andrew Dolling, Director, Climate Change in Agriculture, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Branch

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and the Department of Climate Change

Mr Ian Carruthers, First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation and Land Management Division

Mr David Mortimer, Executive Manager, Climate Change Division

Dr Colin Grant, Executive Director, Bureau of Rural Sciences

Dr Don Gunasekera, Chief Economist, Australian Bureau of Agricultural Resource Economics

Mr Mark Gibbs, General Manger, Climate Change Policy

Ms Desley Darby, Acting Manager, Drought and Exceptional Circumstances

Dr John Sims, Program Leader, Bureau of Rural Sciences