The Senate

# Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport

Fisheries Legislation Amendment Bill 2007 [Provisions]

Fisheries Levy Amendment Bill 2007 [Provisions]

June 2007

© Commonwealth of Australia

ISBN 978-0-642-71818-1

This document was prepared by the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

### **Membership of the Committee**

#### **Members**

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan	LP,	New South Wales	Chair
Senator Rachel Siewert	AG,	Western Australia	Deputy Chair
Senator Judith Adams	LP,	Western Australia	
Senator Anne McEwen	ALP,	South Australia	
Senator Julian McGauran	LP,	Victoria	
Senator Fiona Nash	NATS	S, New South Wales	
Senator Kerry O'Brien	ALP,	Tasmania	
Senator Glenn Sterle	ALP,	Western Australia	

#### Participating Members involved in the inquiry

Senator the Hon. Ian Macdonald, LP, Queensland

#### Committee Secretariat

Ms Jeanette Radcliffe, Secretary Ms Kerrie Martain, Principal Research Officer Ms Trish Carling, Senior Research Officer Ms Rosalind McMahon, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House, Canberra Telephone: (02) 6277 3511 Facsimile (02) 6277 5811

Internet:www.aph.gov.au/senateEmail:rrat.sen@aph.gov.au

## **Table of Contents**

Membership of the Committee	iii	
Chapter One	1	
Introduction	1	
Background	1	
Conduct of the inquiry	1	
Chapter Two	3	
The Bills	3	
Fisheries Legislation Amendment Bill 2007	3	
Fisheries Levy Amendment Bill 2007	4	
Appendix 1	9	
Witnesses who appeared before the Committee	9	
at the Public Hearing	9	