APPENDIX 2

Witnesses who appeared before the Committee at the Public Hearings

Friday 11 October 2002 Albany, Western Australia

Department of Conservation and Land Management Mr John Bartle, Manager, Farm Forestry Unit, Science Division

WA Plantation Resources Pty Ltd Mr Murray Bowles, Estate Manager

Timbercorp Ltd Mr George Bray, Planning Consultant

Forest Products Commission Western Australia Mr Gavin Butcher, Divisional Manager, Plantation Operations

Australian Forest Growers Commercial Plantations Western Australia Mr Gavin Ellis, Chairman, Executive Director, Great Southern Plantations Ltd

Shire of Plantagenet Councillor Kevin Forbes, Shire President

Western Timber Cooperative Ltd Mr James Frith, Director and Secretary

Albany Plantation Export Co. Pty Ltd Mr Peer George, General Manager, Chipmill and Harvesting Division

Albany Port User Liaison Group Mr Ian Peacock, Chairman

Conservation Council of Western Australia Dr Beth Schultz, Vice-President

Western Australia Forest Alliance Mr Rob Versluis, Affiliated Member **Timber 2002** Mr John Walker, Chairman, Plantation Grower, City councillor, Albany City Council

Plantall Forestry Consultants Mr David Wettenhall, Consultant

Albany Port Authority Mr Bradley Williamson, Chief Executive Officer

Friday, 29 November 2002 Launceston, Tasmania

Guns Plantation Ltd Mr Les Baker, Executive Director

Mr Ian Blanden, Manager

Forests and Forest Industry Council Mr Trevor Bird, General Manager

Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources Mr Andrew Blakesley, Director

Mrs Geraldine de Burgh-Day (Private capacity)

Mrs Evelyn Devito (Private capacity)

Ms Colleen Dibley (Private capacity)

Forestry Tasmania

Dr Johannes Drielsma, General Manager, Forest Management Mr Paul Smith, Assistant General Manager Operations

Mr John Hayward (Private capacity)

Private Forests Tasmania Mr Desmond King, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Malcolm Ryan (Private capacity)

Ms Gwenda Sheridan (Private capacity)

Launceston Environment Centre Inc. Mr Peter Sims, Chairman Mr Christopher Strong, Community Representative

172

Mount Arthur Environment Management Group

Mr Simon Wearne, Member

Thursday, 20 February 2003 Parliament House, Canberra

National Association of Forest Industries

Ms Kate Carnell, Executive Director Mr Phil Townsend, Deputy Executive Director

Environment Australia

Dr Rhondda Dickson, Acting First Assistant Secretary Mr Theo Hooy, Acting Assistant Secretary, Water Branch, Marine and Water Division

Dr Ryde James (Private capacity)

Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation

Dr Rosemary Lott, Research Manager, Joint Venture Agroforestry Program Dr Roslyn Prinsley, General Manager, Research, Joint Venture Agroforestry Program

Mr Robert Newman (Private capacity)

Australian Greenhouse Office

Mr Paul Ryan, Assistant Manager, Greenhouse and Land Management Team

Friday, 21 February 2003 Parliament House, Canberra

Institute of Foresters of Australia

Mr Tony Bartlett, Director Mr Jim Donaldson, Member, Executive Committee, ACT Division Professor Peter Kanowski, Member and Professor of Forestry, Australian National University

Greening Australia

Mr Carl Binning, Chief Executive Officer Ms Julia Chalmers, Farm Forestry Program Coordinator

Australian National University

Ms Judy Clark, Postdoctoral Fellow, Centre for Resource and Environmental Studies

Australian Forest Growers

Mr Warwick Ragg, Executive Director Mr Alan Cummine, Executive Director, Treefarm Investment Managers Australia Branch

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry – Australia

Mr Matthew Dadswell, Manager, Forest Industry Development and Trade Section, Forest Industries Branch Mr Darryl Quinlivan, Executive Manager, Fisheries and Forestry

Plantation Timber Association of Australia

Mr Peter Juniper, Chief Executive Mr Richard Stanton

Wednesday, 5 March 2003 Parliament House, Canberra

Department of the Treasury

Mr Michael Buckley, Manager, Resources and Environment Unit Mr Peter Mullins, General Manager, Business Income Division

Australian Taxation Office

Mr Nick Oliver, Assistant Commissioner of Taxation, Office of the Chief Counsel Ms Cheryl-Lea field, Assistant Commissioner, Small Business Mr Gary Hammersley, National Business Manager, Product Rulings

Tuesday, 29 April 2003 Hobart, Tasmania

Ms Naomi Edwards (Private capacity)

Tasmanian Conservation Trust Mr Alistair, Representative

Bass Forest Focus Forum Mr Duncan Mills, Coordinator/Facilitator

Doctors for Forest Dr Frank Nicklason, Spokesman

Forestry Tasmania

Mr Paul Smith, Assistant General Manager Operations Ms Penny Warren, Chief Financial Officer

Schwabenforest Pty Ltd Mr Frank Strie, Director, Forestry Consultant, Mobile Sawmiller and Community Ecoforestry Adviser

Kentish Council Ms Annie Willock, Special Committee of Council – Forestry

174

Wednesday, 6 August 2003 Launceston, Tasmania

Launceston City Council

Mr Stephen Ratcliffe, Manager, Hydraulic Modelling and Systems

Wednesday, 8 October 2003 Parliament House, Canberra

Timber Communities Australia

Mr Barry Chipman, Tasmanian State Coordinator Mr Jim Howes, Preolenna Mothers Group Mrs Diana Pinner, Secretary, Preolenna Mothers Group Mr Keith Smith, Preolenna Mothers Group

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Mr Daryl Quinlivan, Acting Deputy Secretary Mr Matthew Dadswell, Manager, Industry Development and Private Forestry, Forest Indutries Branch

Mr William Manning (Private capacity)