### **APPENDIX TWO**

### LIST OF WITNESSES

### CANBERRA, Friday, 24 September 1999

# Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry – Australia

Dr Simon Hearn, First Assistant Secretary, Portfolio Policy & International Division

Dr Dennis Gebbie, Assistant Secretary, International Branch

Mr Dominic Pyne, Director, WTO & Multilateral Trade Section

Dr Mike Nunn, Assistant Secretary, Animal Health Science & Emergency Management Branch

Dr Dean Merrilees, Acting Assistant Secretary, Animal Health & Welfare Branch

Mr Anthony Cox, Director, Fisheries Economics Section

### **Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service**

Mr Paul Hickey, Executive Director

Mr Digby Gascoine, Director, Policy and International Division

Dr Sarah Kahn, Director, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

Dr Peter Beers, Senior Principal Veterinary Officer, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

Dr David Wilson, Assistant Director, Quarantine Development Unit

Mr Greg O'Connor, Assistant Director, Compliance, Legal and Evaluation Branch

Ms Mary Fisher, Consultant/legal advisor

#### **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr Stephen Deady, Assistant Secretary, World Trade Organisation Branch Ms Joan Hird, Director, World Trade Organisation Branch

#### The Australian Fishing Tackle Association Inc

Mr Doug Joyner, Executive Officer

Dr Julian Pepperell, Specialist consultant in Recreational Fisheries

Mr Geoffrey Brennan, Senior Consultant, Canberra Liaison Pty Ltd

# **Institute of Fresh Water Anglers**

Mr Rodney Tonkin, Secretary
Dr David Jones, Scientific Officer

#### Recfish Australia

Mr David Howes, Member of Executive Mr Ray Walker, Environmental Officer

# Pet Industry Joint Advisory Council of Australia Ltd

Mr Jared Patrick, Vice President and Chairman of Live Fish Subcommittee

### **HOBART, Tuesday, 5 October 1999**

#### **Tasmanian Professional Trout Guides Association**

Mr Roger Butler, Vice President Mr Ken Orr

#### Freshwater Anglers Council of Tasmania

Mr Peter Richards, President Mr Harvey Taylor, Marketing Manager

# **Emeritus Professor Nigel Forteath (private capacity)**

# **Huon Aquaculture Company Pty Ltd**

Mr Peter Bender, Managing Director
Mr Innes Weir, Stock Manager
Ms Frances Bender, Director and Administration Manager

# Dr John Purser, University of Tasmania (private capacity)

### The Hon Sue Napier MHA (Member for Bass)

# **Nortas Pty Ltd**

Mr Steven John, Finance Director

Mr Richard Doedens, Managing Director

Mr Guy Westbrook, Group Operations Manager

#### **Tasmanian Salmonid Growers Association Ltd**

Mr Tony Smithies, Executive Officer

Mr Pheroze Jungalwalla, Manager, Research & Development, Tassal Ltd

#### **Tasmanian Government**

Mr David Llewellyn, MHA, Minister for Primary Industries, Water & Environment

Mr Kim Evans, Secretary, Department of Primary Industries, Water & Environment

Mr Roger Hall, Senior Management Officer, Department of Primary Industries, Water & Environment

Mr Rod Andrewartha, Leader, Disease Management, Department of Primary Industries, Water & Environment

### The Hon Paul Harriss MLC, Member for Huon

#### **Tasmanian Conservation Trust**

Mr Alistair Graham

# Mr Colin Dyke (private capacity)

**Mr Terence Byard (private capacity)** 

### **Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service**

Mr Digby Gascoine, Director, Policy and International Division Dr Sarah Kahn, Director, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

### CANBERRA, Thursday, 11 November 1999

### **Victorian Recreational Fishing (VR Fish)**

Mr Patrick Washington, Chairman

### Tuna Boat Owners' Association of Australia Inc

Mr Brian Jeffriess, President

# **Victorian Trout Association**

Mr Edward Meggitt, President

Mr Miles Rogers, Vice-President

# **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr Stephen Deady, Assistant Secretary, World Trade Organisation Branch Ms Joan Hird, Director, World Trade Organisation Branch

#### Mr Alistair Brown, Fish Veterinarian

# **Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service**

Mr Digby Gascoine, Director, Policy and International Division

Dr Sarah Kahn, Director, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

Dr Peter Beers, Senior Principal Veterinary Officer, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

Mr Greg O'Connor, Assistant Director, Compliance, Legal and Evaluation Branch

# CANBERRA, Friday, 18 February 2000

#### **Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service**

Mr Paul Hickey, Executive Director

Mr Digby Gascoine, Director, Policy and International Division

Dr Sarah Kahn, Director, Fish Quarantine Policy Unit

Ms Vanessa Findlay, Principal Scientific Officer

Mr Greg O'Connor, Assistant Director, Compliance, Legal and Evaluation Branch

# **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Mark Zanker, Assistant Secretary, Officer of International Law

# **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr Peter Hussin, First Assistant Secretary, Trade Negotiations and Organisations Division

Mr Richard Rowe, Assistant Secretary, International Legal Division Ms Joan Hird, Director, World Trade Organisation Branch