## SENATE SELECT COMMITTEE ON A CERTAIN MARITIME INCIDENT

## PUBLIC HEARING WEDNESDAY, 1 MAY 2002

Committee Room 2S1
Parliament House, Canberra

9.30am Parliamentary Press Gallery Committee (Submission 13)

Mr Geoff Barker, The Financial Review

Mr Graeme Dobell, ABC Mr Ian McPhedran, News Ltd

10.30am Morning tea

**10.45am Mr Tony Kevin** (Submission 2, 2A)

11.45am Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr Clive Davidson, Chief Executive Officer

12.15pm Lunch

1.15pm TO BE CONFIRMED

Manus Island Asylum Seeker Camp Committee (Submission 5)

by teleconference

2.45pm Mr John Hodges, Chair, Detention Advisory Group

3.45pm Afternoon tea

**4.00pm** Oxfam Community Aid Abroad (Submission 17)

Mr Malcolm Reid, Manager - Advocacy Mr James Ensor, Director - Public Policy

5.00pm AusAID/DFAT

Dr Geoff Raby, First Assistant Secretary

International Organisation and Legal Division, DFAT

Mr James Wise, First Assistant Secretary

South Pacific, Africa and Middle East Division, DFAT

Mr Charles Tapp, Deputy Director General PNG and Global Programs Division, AusAID

Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe, Deputy Director General, Pacific, Contracts

and Corporate Policy Division, AusAID

6.00pm Dinner

7.30pm

**Amnesty International Australia** (Submission 25) Dr Graham Thom, Refugee Co-ordinator Ms Susan Harris, National Refugee Team

Mr John Pace, author of AI's Nauru Field Report

8.30pm Adjourn