## **APPENDIX 2**

## WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

## Melbourne, Friday 28 August 2009

ASHCROFT, Ms Rebecca, Principal Legal Officer Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

BOULTEN, Mr Phillip, Representative of the Law Council of Australia's National Criminal Law Committee

Law Council of Australia

BURGESS, Mr Mark, Chief Executive Officer Police Federation of Australia

CAIRNS, Ms Louise, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Policy, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch
Attorney-General's Department

CHIDGEY, Ms Sarah, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch

Attorney-General's Department

DEAKIN, Ms Kate, Manager, Litigation and Operational Legal Advice Australian Crime Commission

DONOVAN, Ms Helen, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Law Council of Australia

FLORIAN, Ms Kathleen, Brisbane Office Manager Australian Crime Commission

GAME, Mr Tim, SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Liaison Committee Law Council of Australia

HINCHCLIFFE, Ms Jaala, Senior Assistant Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

HUNT-SHARMAN, Mr Jon, National President Australian Federal Police Association

KELLY, Ms Wendy, Director, Legislation and Strategic Development Section, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch Attorney-General's Department

LAWLER, Mr John, Chief Executive Officer

**Australian Crime Commission** 

MANNING, Mr Michael, Principal Specialist, Legal Policy and Reform Australian Crime Commission

McCARTNEY, Federal Agent Ian, Manager Economic Australian Federal Police

McMILLAN, Professor John, Commonwealth Ombudsman Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

NEWTON, Assistant Commissioner Mandy, Assistant Commissioner Executive Services

Australian Federal Police

ODGERS, Mr Stephen, SC, Member, National Criminal Law Liaison Committee Law Council of Australia

PILGRIM, Mr Timothy, Deputy Privacy Commissioner Office of the Privacy Commissioner

ROWLINGS, Mr Bill, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary Civil Liberties Australia

SENGSTOCK, Mrs Elsa, Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Reform Section, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch Attorney-General's Department

SMITH, Ms Catherine, Assistant Secretary, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch Attorney-General's Department

SOLOMON, Mr Andrew, Director, Policy Office of the Privacy Commissioner

STEEL, Mr Chris, Director, Government Relations Australian Federal Police Association

THORNTON, Mr John, First Deputy Director Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

WHITEHEAD, Federal Agent John, Elected Official Australian Federal Police Association

WHOWELL, Mr Peter, Manager Legislation Program Australian Federal Police

WILLIAMSON, Mr Lance, Director, Civil Liberties Australia