Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee

PUBLIC HEARING

Level 11, Cliftons 440 Collins St Melbourne

Friday, 28 August 2009

8.30am - 4.30pm

PROGRAM

Inquiry into the Crimes Legislation Amendment (Serious and Organised Crime) Bill 2009	
8.30am – 9.30am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 6) via teleconference Ms Helen Donovan, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Mr Tim Game SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Liaison Committee
9.30am – 10:30am	Office of the Privacy Commissioner (Submission 9) via teleconference Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Deputy Privacy Commissioner Mr Andrew Solomon, Policy Director Commonwealth Ombudsman (Submission 2) Professor John McMillan
10.30am – 10.40am	Break
10.40am – 11.30am	Civil Liberties Australia (Submission 4) Mr Bill Rowlings, Secretary Mr Lance Williamson, Director
11:30am- 12:30pm	Police Federation of Australia (Submission 3) Mr Mark Burgess, Chief Executive Officer Australian Federal Police Association (Submission 3) Mr Jon Hunt-Sharman, National President Mr Chris Steel, Director Government Relations Federal Agent Chris Douglas Federal Agent John Whitehead Federal Agent Paul Gabb
12.30pm – 1.15pm	Lunch
1.15pm – 2.15pm	Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (Submission 5) via teleconference Mr John Thornton, First Deputy Director Ms Jaala Hinchcliffe, Senior Assistant Director, Policy Legal, Practice Management and Policy Branch

2.15	A stalle City Constall
2.15pm – 3.15pm	Australian Crime Commission
	Mr John Lawler, APM, Chief Executive Officer
	Ms Kath Florian, Brisbane Office Manager
	Mr Michael Manning, Principal Specialist - Legal Policy & Reform
	Australian Federal Police
	Assistant Commissioner Mandy Newton APM, <i>Executive</i> Services
	Mr Peter Whowell, Manager Legislation
3.15pm – 3.30pm	Break
3.30pm -4.30pm	Attorney-General's Department
	Sarah Chidgey, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch
	Elsa Sengstock, Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Reform (CLLE Branch)
	Louise Cairns, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Law Policy (CLLE Branch)
	Catherine Smith, Assistant Secretary, Telecommunications and Surveillance Law Branch
	Wendy Kelly, Director, Legislation and Strategic Development (TSL Branch)

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Guy Barnett; Secretary: Peter Hallahan