PUBLIC HEARING

Room 814/815 NSW Parliament House Macquarie Street SYDNEY

Thursday, 28 January 2010

8.30am - 4.00pm

PROGRAM

| Inquiry into Native Title Amendment Bill (No. 2) 2009 | |
|---|--|
| 8.30am – 9.00am | NTSCorp (Submission 10) |
| | Mr Warren Mundine, CEO |
| 9.00am – 9.30am | National Native Title Council (Submission 5) |
| | Mr Brian Wyatt, <i>Chair</i> |
| | (also CEO of Goldfields Land Council) |
| | Mr Kevin Smith, Deputy Chair |
| | (also CEO of the Queensland South Native Title Services) |
| | Mr Kim Hill, Executive Member |
| | (also CEO of the Northern Land Council) |
| 9.30am – 10.00am | Northern Land Council (No submission) |
| | Mr Kim Hill, CEO |
| | Mr Ron Levy, Principal Legal Officer |
| 10.00am – 10.10am | Morning tea break |
| 10.10am – 11.10am | Cape York Land Council (Submission 2) (via teleconference) |
| | Mr Richie Ahmat, <i>Chairman</i> |
| | Ms Krysti Guest, Senior Legal Officer |
| | and |
| | Cape York Institute (No submission) (via teleconference) |
| | Mr Noel Pearson, Director |
| 11.10am – 11.40am | |
| 11.10am – 11.40am | Law Council of Australia (Submission 14) |
| 11.10am – 11.40am | Law Council of Australia (Submission 14) Ms Raelene Webb QC, Member, Indigenous Legal Issues Committee |
| 11.10am – 11.40am | |
| 11.10am – 11.40am 11.40am – 12.30pm | Ms Raelene Webb QC, Member, Indigenous Legal Issues Committee |
| | Ms Raelene Webb QC, Member, Indigenous Legal Issues Committee Mr Nick Parmeter, Senior Policy Lawyer |
| | Ms Raelene Webb QC, Member, Indigenous Legal Issues CommitteeMr Nick Parmeter, Senior Policy LawyerAttorney-General's Department |

| | Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs |
|------------------|---|
| | Ms Amanda Cattermole, Group Manager, Office of Remote Indigenous Housing |
| | Mr John Litchfield, <i>Acting Branch Manager, Land Reform Branch</i> (Joint Submission 7) |
| 12.30pm – 1.15pm | Adjournment |

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Secretary: Ms Julie Dennett