## SENATE LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE PUBLIC HEARING

Cliftons Conference Centre 190-200 George St SYDNEY NSW 2000

Friday 7 August 2009

9:00am - 4:45pm

## **PROGRAM**

Personal Property Securities Bill 2009		
9.00am – 9:45am	Professor Tony Duggan	
9:45am – 10:30am	Attorney-General's Department	
Inquiry into the Migration Amendment (Immigration Detention Reform) Bill 2009		
10:30am –10:45am	Break	
10:45am – 11:30am	Department of Immigration and Citizenship	
	(Submission 15)	
	<u>Briefing</u>	
	Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary	
	Mr Peter Hughes, Deputy Secretary	
	Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary	
	Ms Alison Larkins, First Assistant Secretary	
	Ms Jackie Wilson, First Assistant Secretary	
11:30am – 12:15pm	Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre (Victoria) (via teleconference) (submission TBA)	
	Mr David Mann, Director	
	Immigration Advice and Rights Centre (Submission 20)	
	Ms Rowena Irish, Acting Director and Principal Solicitor	
	Refugee Advice and Casework Service (RACS) (Submission 20)	
	TBA	
12:15pm-1:00pm	Human Rights Law Resource Centre - via teleconference (Submission 34)	
	Ms Rachel Ball, Lawyer	
	Ms Emily Howie, Senior Lawyer	

	Public Interest Law Clearing House - via teleconference (Submission 30)
	Ms Michelle Panayi, Co-Manager
1.00pm -1:45pm	Lunch
1:45pm – 2.15pm	Refugee Council of Australia (Submission 37)
	Ms Tamara Domicelj, National Policy Director
	Ms Sonia Caton, Board Member – via teleconference
2:15pm – 2:45 pm	UnitingJustice (Submission 14)
	Rev. Elenie Poulos, National Director
	Ms Caz Coleman, Hotham Mission Asylum Seeker Project
2:45pm –3:30pm	Law Institute of Victoria - via teleconference (Submission 18)
	Mr Erskine Rodan, Council member
	Law Council of Australia - via teleconference (Submission 30)
	Ms Rosemary Budavari, Director, Human Rights & Criminal Law Unit
	Ms Sarah Moulds, Senior Policy Lawyer
3:30pm –4:00pm	A Just Australia (Submission 19)
	Ms Kate Gauthier, National Coordinator
	Ms Zhi Yan, National Coordinator (acting)
4:00pm-4:45pm	<b>Department of Immigration and Citizenship</b> (Submission 15)
	Mr Peter Hughes, Deputy Secretary
	Ms Alison Larkins, First Assistant Secretary
	Ms Jackie Wilson, First Assistant Secretary
4:45pm	Adjournment

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Secretary: Peter Hallahan