

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

23 July 2010

Senator the Hon John Hogg President of the Senate

## INQUIRY INTO THE PROVISIONS OF THE HUMAN RIGHTS (PARLIAMENTARY SCRUTINY) BILL 2010 AND THE HUMAN RIGHTS (PARLIAMENTARY SCRUTINY) (CONSEQUENTIAL PROVISIONS) BILL 2010

## **Background**

On 2 June 2010, pursuant to a resolution of the Senate on 13 May 2010, the provisions of the Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Bill 2010 and the Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) (Consequential Provisions) Bill 2010 were referred to the Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 15 June 2010. On 15 June 2010, the Senate agreed to extend the reporting date to 17 August 2010.

Together, the two Bills sought to implement the legislative elements of Australia's Human Rights Framework announced by the Australian Government in April 2010. The main Bill established the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights, and set out the functions and administrative arrangements for that committee. The consequential Bill contained amendments arising as a consequence of the main Bill.

## **Conduct of the inquiry**

The committee advertised the inquiry in *The Australian* newspaper on 16 June 2010 and 30 June 2010, and invited submissions by 9 July 2010. Details of the inquiry, the Bill and associated documents were placed on the committee's website. The committee also wrote to over 100 organisations and individuals.

The committee received 54 submissions, all of which were placed on the committee's website. The committee thanks those organisations and individuals who made submissions to its inquiry.

On 19 July 2010, the Governor-General prorogued the 42<sup>nd</sup> Parliament and dissolved the House of Representatives. Accordingly, the committee has resolved not to continue its inquiry into the provisions of the Bill. This decision is consistent with the approach to inquiries during elections adopted by other Senate committees. If the Bill is reintroduced in the new parliament, the Senate can again refer it to the committee for inquiry.

Senator Trish Crossin Chair