## PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM

Level 11, Cliftons 440 Collins Street Melbourne 21 May 2010 9.00am – 3.30pm

Inquiry into the National Security Legislation Amendment Bill 2010 and Parliamentary Joint Committee on Law Enforcement Bill 2010	
9.00am – 9.45am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 22)
	Mr Philip Bolton SC, Member, National Criminal Law Liaison Committee
	Ms Rosemary Budavari, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division
9.45am – 10.30am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 18)
	The Hon Catherine Branson QC, President
	Ms Bronwyn Byrnes, Lawyer, Legal Section
10.30am – 10.45am	Morning tea break
10.45am – 11.15am	Assoc Prof Katharine Gelber, School of Social Sciences and International Studies, University of New South Wales (Submission 5) (via teleconference)
11.15am – 11.45am	Gilbert & Tobin Centre for Public Law (Submission 10)
	Professor George Williams, Foundation Director (via teleconference)
	Ms Nicola McGarrity, Project Director, Terrorism and Law (via teleconference)
	Mr Ed Santow, Director, Charter of Rights Project
11.45am – 12.15pm	Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (Submission 9)
	Dr Patrick Emerton, Associate
12.15pm – 12.45pm	<b>Australian Federal Police Association</b> (Submission 16)
	Mr Jon Hunt-Sharman, President
	Mr Ben Santamaria, Zone Coordinator Federal Investigations and Office Operations Support Zone
12.45pm – 1.45pm	Lunch break
1.45pm – 2.15pm	National Association for Community Legal Centres (Submission 13)
	Ms Sarah Nicholson, Policy Officer, Federation of Community Legal Centres Victoria
2.15pm – 3.30pm	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 12)
	Ms Annette Willing, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch, National Security Law and Policy Division

## SENATE LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

3.30pm (approx)	Mr Chris Goldsmid, Coordinator Legislation Mr Scott Lee, Manager Counter Terrorism
	Australian Federal Police (No submission)  Mr Chris Goldsmid, Coordinator Logislation
	Ms Philippa de Veau, National Manager Legal Services
	Australian Crime Commission (Submission 21)
	Ms Laura Munsia, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, National Security Law and Policy Division
	Ms Julia Galluccio, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, National Security Law and Policy Division

Chair: Senator Trish Crossin; Deputy Chair: Senator Guy Barnett; Secretary: Ms Julie Dennett