APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Sydney, Monday 14 November 2005

Attorney-General's Department (Submission 290)

Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Ms Kirsten Kobus, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Ms Karen Bishop, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Mr Geoff Gray, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch

AUSTRAC

Mr Neil Jensen, Director

Mr Paul Ryan, Acting Deputy Director

Ms Liz Atkins, Deputy Director, AML Reform

Public Interest Advocacy Centre (Submission 81)

Ms Anne Mainsbridge, Senior Solicitor

Ms Jane Stratton, Policy Officer

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights (Submission 139)

Mr Simeon Beckett, President

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (Submission 114)

Mr Ibrahim Abraham, Research Fellow

Gilbert and Tobin Centre of Public Law (Submission 80)

Dr Andrew Lynch, Director, Terrorism and Law Project

Dr Ben Saul, Director, Bill of Rights Project

Amnesty International Australia (Submission 141)

Mr Robert Toner SC

Ms Nicole Bieske, Board Member, Member of National Legal Team

Law Council of Australia (Submission 140)

Mr John North, President

Mr Peter Webb, Secretary-General

Ms Pradeepa Jayawardena, Policy Lawyer

Sydney, Thursday 17 November 2005

Australian Press Council (submission 143)

Professor Ken McKinnon, Chairman

Mr Jack Herman, Executive Secretary

Arts and Creative Industries of Australia (submission 153)

Mr Robert Connolly

Mr Chris Connolly, Visiting Fellow, Law Faculty, University of New South Wales (Submission 56)

Australian Bankers Association (submission 26)

Mr Tony Burke, Director, Tax and Security Issues

Mr David Bell, Chief Executive Officer

Association of Superannuation Funds Australia (submission 64)

Mr Brad Pragnell, Principal Policy Advisor

Australian Muslim Civil Rights Advocacy Network (submission 157)

Dr Waleed Kadous, Co-convenor

Ms Agnes Chong, Co-convenor

Australian Federation of Islamic Councils (no submission)

Dr Ameer Ali, President

NSW Council for Civil Liberties (submission 161)

Mr Cameron Murphy, President

Mr David Bernie, Vice President

Ms Pauline Wright, Vice President

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (submission 158)

Mr John von Doussa QC, President

Mr Craig Lenehan, Deputy Director, Legal Services

Australian Federal Police (submission 195)

Federal Agent John Lawler, Deputy Commissioner

Federal Agent Andrew Colvin, Chief of Staff

Mr Peter Whowell, Manager, Legislation Program

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (no submission)

Mr Paul O'Sullivan, Director-General

Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (submission 163)

Mr Ian Carnell, Inspector-General

Commonwealth Ombudsman (submission 163)

Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Bret Walker SC (submission 194)

ACT Government

Chief Minister Jon Stanhope, Australian Capital Territory (Submission 156)

Mr Peter Garrison, Chief Solicitor, ACT Government Solicitor's Office

Dr Helen Watchirs, ACT Human Rights and Discrimination Commissioner (Submission 154)

Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Acting Chief Executive, ACT Department of Justice and Community Safety

Sydney, Friday 17 November 2005

Attorney-General's Department (Submission 290)

Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Ms Kirsten Kobus, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Ms Karen Bishop, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Mr Geoff Gray, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch