## **Senate Legal & Constitutional Legislation Committee**

## Inquiry into the provisions of the Anti-Terrorism Bill (No. 2) 2005

## **PUBLIC HEARING**

Commonwealth Offices Conference Room A Level 8, 70 Phillip Street, Sydney

**Thursday, 17 November 2005** 9:00am –5:30pm

## **PROGRAM**

9:00am – 9:45am **Australian Press Council (submission 143)** 

Professor Ken McKinnon, Chairman Mr Jack Herman, Executive Secretary

Arts and Creative Industries of Australia (submission 153)

Mr Robert Connolly

9:45am – 10:30am Australian Bankers Association (submission 26)

Mr Tony Burke, Director, Tax and Security Issues

Association of Superannuation Funds Australia (submission 64)

Mr Brad Pragnell, Principal Policy Advisor

10:30am – 11:30am Australian Muslim Civil Rights Advocacy Network (submission 157)

Dr Waleed Kadous, Co-convenor Ms Agnes Chong, Co-convenor

**Australian Federation of Islamic Councils (no submission)** 

Dr Ameer Ali, President

11:30am – 12:15pm NSW Council for Civil Liberties (submission 161)

Mr Cameron Murphy, President Mr David Bernie, Vice President Ms Pauline Wright, Vice President

12:15pm – 1:15pm **Lunch** 

1:15pm – 2:00pm Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (submission 158)

Mr John von Doussa QC, President

Mr Craig Lenehan, Deputy Director, Legal Services

2:00pm – 3:15pm **Australian Federal Police (submission 195)** 

Federal Agent John Lawler, Deputy Commissioner

Federal Agent Andrew Colvin, Chief of Staff

Mr Peter Whowell, Manager, Legislation Program

**Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (no submission)** 

Mr Paul O'Sullivan, Director-General

3:15pm – 4:00pm Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (submission 163)

Mr Ian Carnell, Inspector-General

Commonwealth Ombudsman (submission 163)

Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

4:00pm – 4:45pm Mr Bret Walker SC (submission 194)

4.45pm – 5.30 pm **ACT Government (submission 156)** 

Mr Peter Garrison, Chief Solicitor, ACT Government Solicitor's Office

Dr Helen Watchirs, ACT Human Rights and Discrimination Commissioner

Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Acting Chief Executive, ACT Department of Justice and Community Safety