The Senate

Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Criminal Code Amendment (Suicide Related Material Offences) Bill 2005

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005				
ISBN 0 642 71510 6				
This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra				

MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Members

Senator Marise Payne, Chair, LP, NSW

Senator the Hon. Nick Bolkus, **Deputy Chair**, ALP, SA

Senator Brian Greig, AD, WA*

Senator Joseph Ludwig, ALP, QLD

Senator Brett Mason, LP, QLD

Senator Nigel Scullion, CLP, NT

Substitute Member

- * Senator Aden Ridgeway, AD, NSW to replace Senator Brian Greig for matters relating to the Indigenous Affairs portfolio
- * Senator Andrew Bartlett, AD QLD to replace Senator Brian Greig for the inquiry into the provisions of the Migration Litigation Reform Bill 2005.

Participating Members

Senator the Hon. Eric Abetz, LP, TAS

Senator G. Barnett, LP, TAS

Senator A. Bartlett, AD, QLD (for DIMIA)

Senator Mark Bishop, ALP, WA Senator George Brandis, LP, QLD

Senator Bob Brown, AG, TAS

Senator Geoff Buckland, LP, QLD

Senator George Campbell, ALP, NSW

Senator Kim Carr, ALP, VIC

Senator Grant Chapman, LP, SA

Senator the Hon R Colbeck, LP, TAS

Senator Stephen Conroy, ALP, VIC

Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA

Senator Christopher Evans, ALP, WA

Senator the Hon. John Faulkner, ALP, NSW

Senator Alan Ferguson, LP, SA

Senator Jeannie Ferris, LP, SA

Senator Brian Harradine, IND, TAS

Senator John Hogg, ALP, QLD

Senator Gary Humphries, LP, ACT

Senator Linda Kirk, ALP, SA

Senator Susan Knowles, LP, WA

Senator Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA

Senator Kate Lundy, ALP, ACT

Senator Sue Mackay, ALP, TAS

Senator Julian McGauran, NPA, VIC

Senator Jan McLucas, ALP, QLD

Senator Kerry Nettle, AG, NSW

Senator Robert Ray, ALP, VIC

Senator Aden Ridgeway, AD, NSW

Senator the Hon. Nick Sherry, ALP, TAS

Senator Ursula Stephens, ALP, NSW

Senator Natasha Stott Despoja, AD, SA

Senator Tsebin Tchen, LP, VIC

Senator John Watson, LP, TAS

Secretariat

Mr Owen Walsh Secretary

Ms Julie Dennett Principal Research Officer
Ms Sophie Power Principal Research Officer

Ms Marina Seminara Executive Assistant (to April 2005)

Mr Mark Stevenson Estimates Officer

Ms Judith Wuest Executive Assistant (from May 2005)

Suite S1.61 Telephone: (02) 6277 3560 Fax: (02) 6277 5794

Parliament House E-mail: <u>legcon.sen@aph.gov.au</u>

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Members of the Legislation Committee	111
Recommendations	vii
Abbreviations	ix
CHAPTER 1	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
Acknowledgement	2
Note on references	2
CHAPTER 2	3
OVERVIEW OF THE BILL	3
Background	3
Significant provisions of the Bill	3
CHAPTER 3	7
KEY ISSUES	7
Policy justification of the Bill – to protect the 'vulnerable'	7
Arguments that the Bill is uncalled-for and misguided	8
Arguments in favour of the Bill and its policy objectives	12
The extent to which the Bill unduly impacts on free speech	14
Definitional issues	21
Inconsistency with Customs Regulations	24
The committee's view	25
AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS DISSENTING REPORT	29
SENATOR BRIAN HARRADINE - QUALIFYING COMMENTS	33

APPENDIX 1	49
SUBMISSIONS RECEIVED	49
APPENDIX 2	51
WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE	51
Canberra, Thursday 14 April 2005	51