# **APPENDIX 2**

# WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

# Brisbane, Wednesday 25 October 2006

Dr Ros Kidd, Private capacity

#### **Queensland Public Interest Law Clearing House (QPILCH)**

Mr Anthony Woodyatt, Coordinator

Mr Patrick Hay, Counsel instructed by QPILCH

Ms Yvonne Butler, Private capacity

Mr Robert (Bob) Weatherall, Private capacity

Professor Anna Haebich, Private capacity

Queensland Synod, Uniting Church in Australia Reverend Doctor David Pitman, Moderator Mr Andrew Johnson, Social Responsibility Advocate

**Cherbourg Historical Precinct Group** Mrs Jeanette Brown, Secretary Pastor Henry Collins, Member

# Mrs Beryl Gambrill, Chairperson, Barambah Local Justice Group Mrs Alexandra Hazel Gater Ms Annie Moffatt Mr Kenneth Bone Ms Alzira Conlon Ms Sandra Morgan

Mrs Ettie Gleeson, Private capacity

Mr Peter Noel Bird, Private capacity

#### **Queensland Stolen Wages Campaign Working Group**

Mrs Ruth Hegarty, Member, Executive

Mrs Vera Hill, Member, Management Committee

Mr Victor Gregory Hart, Member, Executive

Ms Tammy Williams, Private capacity

Mrs Lesley Williams, Private capacity

## **Queensland Government**

Mr Michael Hogan, Assistant Director-General, Queensland Department of Communities

#### 142

# Sydney, Friday 27 October 2006

#### Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (HREOC)

Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Acting Director of Legal Services

Mr Darren Dick, Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Unit

Dr Thalia Anthony, Private capacity

## **Public Interest Advocacy Centre**

Mr Simon Moran, Principal Solicitor

Ms Charmaine Smith, Solicitor, Indigenous Justice Project

Ms Valerie Linow, Private capacity

Ms Marjorie Woodrow, Private capacity

## Indigenous Law Centre, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales

Mr Sean Brennan, Centre Associate

Mr Anthony Westmore, Coordinator

Dr Susan Greer, Private capacity

## Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation (ANTaR)

Mr Gary Highland, National Director

Ms Christine Howes, President of ANTaR Queensland

Ms Sally Fitzpatrick, Member, National Management Committee; and Vice-President, ANTaR (New South Wales)

#### Perth, Thursday 16 November 2006

Dr Cameron Raynes, Private capacity

#### Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia

Mr Dennis Eggington, Chief Executive Officer Dr Fiona Skyring, Historian Ms Tahnee Davies, Managing Solicitor, Civil and Human Rights Unit Mr Frank Chulung

Mr Arnold Franks, Private capacity

Mr Craig Muller, Private capacity

Mr Ted Carlton, Private capacity Mr Button Jones, Private capacity Ms Pansy Nulgit, Private capacity

Mr Alan Griffiths, Private capacity

#### Indigenous Women's Congress of Western Australia

Mrs Oriel Green, Member

Mrs Patricia Kopusar, Member

Mr Stephen Kinnane, Private capacity

# Canberra, Tuesday 28 November 2006

#### Wampan Wages: Victorian Stolen Wages Working Group

Mr Joel Wright, Member and Indigenous Officer (Federal), National Tertiary Education Industry Union

Miss Dorothy Peters, Private capacity

#### Australian Centre for Indigenous History, Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University

Professor Ann McGrath, Director

#### **Department of Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs**

Mr Bernie Yates, Deputy Secretary

Mr Anthony Field, Manager, Legal Services

Mr Christopher Carlile, Acting Branch Manager, Strategic Policy Branch