## Inquiry into the provisions of the Migration Amendment (Designated Unauthorised Arrivals) Bill 2006

## **PUBLIC HEARING**

## Main Committee Room Parliament House CANBERRA

Friday, 26 May 2006 9.00 am – 3.45 pm

## **PROGRAM**

9.00 am – 10.00 am	United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (Submission 75)
	Mr Neill Wright, Regional Representative
	Mr Henry Domzalski, Senior Regional Protection Officer
10.00 am – 10.45 am	Liberty Victoria (Submission 31)
	Mr Brian Walters SC, President
10.45 am – 11.30 am	Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (Submission 112)
	Mr Jonathan Hunyor, Legal Officer
	Ms Frances Simmons, Associate to President von Doussa
	Mr Graeme Innes AM, Human Rights Commissioner and Commissioner Responsible for Disability Discrimination
11.30 am – 12.15 pm	Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (Submission 80)
	Ms Tania Penovic
	Ms Azadeh Dastyari
	Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre (Submission 91)
	Mr David Manne, Coordinator and Principal Solicitor and Registered Migration Agent

12.15 pm – 12.45 pm **Lunch** 

12.45 pm – 1.15 pm	Law Institute of Victoria (Submission 90)
	By Teleconference
	Mr Erskine Rodan, Council Member
	Mr Paul Fisher, Victoria Legal Aid, Civil Law Service
	Ms Joanne Kummrow, Acting Manager, Advocacy and Practice
1.15 pm – 2.00 pm	Dr Penelope Mathew, Faculty of Law, Australian National University (Submission 96)
2.00 pm – 2.45 pm	<b>Refugee Council of Australia (Submission 9)</b>
	Mr John Gibson, President
	<b>Victorian Bar/Public Interest Law Clearing House (Vic) (Submission 109)</b> The Hon Ron Merkel QC
2.45 pm – 3.45 pm	Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (Submission 118)
	Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary
	Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division
	Mr Robert Illingworth, Assistant Secretary Onshore Protection Branch, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division
	Ms Robyn Bicket, Chief Lawyer, Legal Division
	Ms Vicki Parker, A/g Assistant Secretary, Legal Framework Branch, Legal Division
	Mr Dean Hulmes, A/g Director, Offshore Processing Caseload & Policy
	Mr Robert Hoitink, Assistant Secretary, Border Intelligence and Unauthorised Arrivals Branch, Border Security Division