## **Senate Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee**

## **Inquiry into the Copyright Amendment Bill 2006**

## **PUBLIC HEARING**

Committee Room 2S3
Parliament House
CANBERRA

**Tuesday, 7 November 2006 9.00am – 1.15pm** 

## **PROGRAM**

9.00am – 10.00am **Ms Kimberlee Weatherall (Submission 54)** 

<u>Schedule 6 – fair use</u> <u>exceptions</u>

**Australian Digital Alliance (Submission 50)** 

Ms Sarah Waladan, Executive Officer

**Australian Copyright Council (Submission 22)** 

Ms Libby Baulch, Executive Officer

**Copyright Agency Limited (Submission 29)** 

Mr Michael Fraser, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Caroline Morgan, General Manager, Corporate Services

10.00am – 10.45am Screenrights (Submissions 8 and 15)

Mr Simon Lake, Chief Executive

Schedule 8 – Digital Agenda reforms (use of copyright for educational purposes/educational statutory licences)

Dr David Brennan, Copyright Consultant

Copyright Advisory Group to the Schools Resourcing Taskforce of the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (CAG) (Submissions 8 and 25)

Ms Delia Browne, National Copyright Director

Ms Carolyn Dalton, Legal Adviser

**Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee (Submission 58)** 

Mr John Mullarvey, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Anne Flahvin, Legal Adviser

10.45am - 11.30am

Mr Dale Clapperton and Professor Brian Fitzgerald, Queensland University of Technology (Submissions 42 and 46)

Schedule 12 – Technological Protection Measures

**Open Source Industry Australia Limited (Submission 21)** 

Mr Brendan Scott, Director

**Interactive Entertainment Association of Australia (Submission 10)** 

Mr Chris Hanlon, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Maurice Gonsalves, Partner, Malleson Stephen Jaques, Legal

Representative

**Apple Computers (Submission 63)** 

Mr Robert Small, Marketing Director

Mr William Knight, Solictor

11.30am – 12.15pm

**Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (Submission 53)** 

Schedules 1 and 2 – Criminal liability provisions

Mr James Carter, Senior Assistant Director

Ms Julie Taylor, Senior Legal Officer

**Ms Kimberlee Weatherall (Submission 54)** 

**Australian Federation Against Copyright Theft (Submission 57)** 

Ms Adrianne Pecotic, Executive Director

12.15pm – 1.15pm **Attorney-General's Department (Submission 69)** 

**Copyright Law Branch** 

Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary

Mr Christopher Creswell, Consultant

Mr Peter Treyde, Principal Legal Officer

Ms Kirsti Haipola, A/g Principal Legal Officer

Mr Norman Bowman, Senior Legal Officer

Ms Elena Down, A/g Principal Legal Officer

Mr Sam Ahlin, A/g Principal Legal Officer