Inquiry into the Exposure Draft of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Bill 2005

PUBLIC HEARING

Conference Room A
Level 8
Commonwealth Offices
Charterbridge House
70 Phillip Street
SYDNEY

Tuesday, 14 March 2006 9.00 am – 4.45 pm

PROGRAM

9.00 am – 10.00 am **Australian Bankers' Association (Submission 18)**

Mr Tony Burke, Director

Australian Association of Permanent Building Societies (Submission 8)

Mr Raj Venga, Executive Director

Credit Union Industry Association (Submission 19)

Mr Luke Lawler, Senior Advisor, Policy and Public Affairs

10.00 am – 10.45 am **Investment and Financial Services Association (Submission 2)**

Mr Richard Gilbert, Chief Executive Officer

Financial Planning Association of Australia Limited (Submission 24)

Mr John Anning, Manager Policy and Government Relations

10.45 am – 11.30 am **Australian Casino Association (No submission)**

Mr Chris Downy, Executive Director

Mr Anthony Lloyd Seyfort, Partner, Lander & Rogers, Lawyers for the

Australian Casino Association

11.30 am – 12.15 pm Office of the Privacy Commissioner (Submission 23)

Mr Timothy Pilgrim

Australian Privacy Foundation (Submission 4)

Ms Anna Johnston, Chair

Mr David Vaile, Vice-Chair

12.15 pm – 1.00 pm NSW Council for Civil L i	iberties ((Submission 10)	,
---	------------	-----------------	---

Mr Stephen Blanks, Secretary

Mr Anish Bhasin, Committee Member

Ms Rhonda Luo, Member

1.00 pm - 1.30 pm **Lunch**

1.30 pm – 2.15 pm **CPA Australia/The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia** (Submission 7)

Ms Judy Hartcher, Business Policy Advisor

Ms Catherine Kennedy, Professional Standards Consultant

Mr Bill Palmer, General Manager Standards & Public Affairs

2.15 pm – 3.00 pm **American Express (Submission 15)**

Mr Brett Knight, Head of Compliance

Ms Michelle Mancy, Manager, Legal Affairs

ING Direct (Submission 13)

Mr Mark Mullington, Executive Director, Risk Management

Ms Lisa Claes, Executive Director, Sales and Operations

3.00 pm – 3.45 pm Allens Arthur Robinson – (Submission 27)

Mr Peter Jones, Partner, Banking and Finance

3.45 pm – 4.45 pm **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Geoff Gray, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch

Mr Bruce Bannerman, Principal Legal Officer, Funding and Assets of

Crime Section

AUSTRAC

Ms Liz Atkins, Deputy Director AML Reform

Ms Louise Link, AML Reform Team Leader

Mr Paul Ryan, Acting Deputy Director Regulatory and Corporate

Australian Federal Police (Submission 12)

Federal Agent Peter Drennan, National Manager Economic and Special Operations

Mr Peter Whowell, Manager, Legislation Program