APPENDIX C

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Monday, 31 January 2000

The Committee visited town camps at Alice Springs and had informal discussions with:

Tangentyere Council

William Tilmouth (Executive Director), Mike Bowden (Manager, Community Development), Kevin Wirri (Men's Cultural Officer) and Peter Cowham (Youth Services Co-ordinator)

Irrkerlantye Housing Association

Myra Hayes (senior member of community)

Mpwetyere Housing Association

Lesley Brokus, President

Yarrntye Arltere Housing Association

Daniel Forrester, President

Tuesday, 1 February 2000 - Alice Springs

Aboriginal Child Care Association, Arrente House

Ms Margaret Furber, Committee Member

Alice Springs Youth Accommodation and Support Service

Ms Astri Baker, Representative

Ms Jane Vadiveloo, Psychologist

Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service (CAALAS)

Mr David Bamber, Principal Legal Officer

Mr Mark O'Reilly, Criminal Lawyer

Central Australian Women's Legal Service

Ms Katrina Budrikis, Chairperson

Ms Helen Collins, Member, Management Committee

Ms Michelle Stevens, Solicitor/Coordinator

Central Australian Youth Justice Group

Mr Russell Goldflam, Member/Spokesperson

Intjartnama Village

Mrs Elva Cook, Chairperson

Tangentyere Council

Mr William Tilmouth, Executive Director

Mr Michael Bowden, Manager, Community Development

Mr Kevin Rolfe, Financial Counsellor

Wednesday, 2 February 2000 – Darwin

Anglicare Top End

Mr Peter Fisher, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Tony Fitzgerald, Coordinator and Senior Mediator

Darwin Community Legal Service

Ms Cassandra Goldie, Co-ordinator and Senior Solicitor

Law Society of the Northern Territory

Mr Jon Tippett, President

Ms Maria Ceresa, Executive Officer

Miwatj Aboriginal Legal Service

Mr Selwyn Hausman, Director and Principal Solicitor

North Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service

Mr Gordon Renouf, Director

Mr John Sheldon, Policy Solicitor

Ms Kirsty Gowans, Solicitor

Northern Territory Aboriginal Justice Advocacy Committee

Mr Christopher Howse, Executive Officer

Northern Territory Attorney-General's Department

Mr David Anderson, Acting Chief Executive Officer

Ms Elizabeth Kelly, Acting Deputy Secretary

Northern Territory Bar Association

Mr Colin McDonald QC, President

Northern Territory Council of Churches

Most Reverend Edmund Collins, Catholic Bishop

Right Reverend Philip Freier, Anglican Bishop

Reverend Gale Hall, Secretary

Mrs Jane Aagaard, Chair, Uniting Church Synod Committee

Northern Territory Legal Aid Commission

Mr Richard Coates, Director

Mr Jonathon Hunyor, Solicitor

Territorians for Effective Sentencing

Ms Ilana Eldridge, Member

Top End Women's Legal Service

Ms Fiona Hussin, President

Ms Kate Halliday, Co-ordinator and Solicitor

Ms Angela Dowling, Aboriginal Community Development Worker

Youth Rights Action Group

Ms Sibylle Kaczorek, Advocate for Young People

Thursday, 3 February 2000 - Perth

Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia

Mr David Imlah, Principal Legal Officer

Australian Women Lawyers

Ms Clare Thompson, Director/Company Secretary

Christian Centre for Social Action

Mr Brian Steels, Director

Law School, University of Western Australia

Mr Martin Flynn, Lecturer

Law Society of Western Australia and Criminal Lawyers Association of Western Australia

Mr John Prior, Deputy Convenor, Criminal Law Committee of the Law Society and President of the Association, respectively

Ministry of Justice, Western Australia

Dr Robert Fitzgerald PSM, Executive Director

Mr Andrew Marshall, Director of Policy

Ministry of the Premier and Cabinet, Western Australia

Mrs Petrice Anne Judge, Assistant Director General, Federal and Constitutional Affairs

Prisoners Advisory Support Service of Western Australia

Ms Dorothy Goulding, Chairperson

Western Australian Bar Association

Mr Phillip Eaton, President

Youth Affairs Council Juvenile Justice Portfolio Group

Reverend George Davies, Convenor

Youth Legal Council

Ms Cheryl Vernon, Manager

Thursday, 17 February 2000 – Canberra

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission

Mr Gatjil Djerrkura, Commissioner, Northern Territory Northern Zone

Ms Alison Anderson, Commissioner, Northern Territory Central Zone

Ms Laura Beacroft, National Change Manager, Legal and Preventative Services Section

Mr Tim Cornforth, Acting Assistant General Manager, Culture, Legal Aid and Family Policy

Mr Justin Toohey, Senior Policy Officer, Legal and Preventative Services Section

Professor Christopher Cunneen, Consultant

Australian Institute of Criminology

Dr Peter Grabosky, Acting Director

Mr Declan Roche, Research Assistant

Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department

Ms Renee Leon, Assistant Secretary, Public International Law Branch

Intellectual Disability Rights Service

Ms Melissa Bellanta, Solicitor

Law Council of Australia

Dr Gordon Hughes, President

Ms Christine Harvey, Deputy Secretary-General

National Children's and Youth Law Centre

Mr Louis Schetzer, Director and Principal Solicitor