The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Senate Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee

**Consideration of legislation referred** 

to the Committee

Inquiry into the Provisions of the Administrative Review Tribunal Bill 2000 and the Provisions of the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions) Bill 2000

FEBRUARY 2001

© Commonwealth of Australia 2001

ISSN 1326-9364

This document was produced from camera-ready copy prepared by the Senate Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

## **Members of the Legislation Committee**

## Members

Senator M Payne, New South Wales, *Chair* Senator J McKiernan, Western Australia, *Deputy Chair* Senator H Coonan, New South Wales Senator B Cooney, Victoria Senator B Mason, Queensland Senator B Greig, Western Australia

## **Participating Members**

Senator the Hon. E Abetz, Tasmania Senator the Hon. N Bolkus, South Australia Senator P Calvert, Tasmania Senator J Collins, Victoria Senator G Chapman, South Australia Senator A Eggleston, Western Australia Senator A Ferguson, South Australia Senator the Hon. B Gibson, Tasmania Senator S Knowles, Western Australia Senator J. Ludwig Senator J McGauran, Victoria Senator N Stott Despoja, South Australia Senator J Tierney, New South Wales Senator A Bartlett, Queensland Senator B Brown, Tasmania Senator W Crane, Western Australia Senator the Hon. J Faulkner, New South Wales Senator J Ferris, South Australia Senator M Forshaw, New South Wales Senator B Harradine, Tasmania Senator L Harris, Queensland Senator R Lightfoot, Western Australia Senator T Tchen, Victoria Senator J Watson, Tasmania

## Secretariat

Dr Pauline Moore (Secretary to the Committee) Ms Evonne Marsh (Principal Research Officer) Mr Noel Gregory (Principal Research Officer) Ms Sonia Hailes (Executive Assistant) PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600 Tel: (02) 6277 3560 Fax: (02) 6277 5794