

# Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

## Chair

Senator Helen Polley

## **Deputy Chair**

Senator Cory Bernardi

#### Members

Senator Doug Cameron Senator Jacinta Collins Senator Scott Ryan Senator Scott Ludlum

#### **Participating Members**

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary
Senate Finance and Public
Administration Legislation Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600

**Tel:** 02 6277 3530 **Fax:** 02 6277 5809

Email: fpa.sen@aph.gov.au

Interneta

www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/fapa\_ctte/

# **National Security Legislation Monitor Bill 2009**

Date Friday, 14 August 2009

Time 9.30 am-1.00 pm

**Venue** Main Committee Room

Parliament House, Canberra

9.30–10.10 am	Castan Centre for Human Rights Law (Sub 7) Dr Patrick Emerton, Associate (via teleconference) Public Interest Law Clearance House (Sub 6) Human Rights Law Resource Centre (Sub 6) Mr Ben Schokman, Senior Human Rights Lawyer (via teleconference)
10.10–10.45 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Sub 11) Mr Jonathan Hunyor, Director, Legal Section (via teleconference)
10.45 –11.00 am	Break
11.00–11.45 am	Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law (Sub 1) Dr Andrew Lynch, Director Ms Nicola McGarrity, Project Director, Terrorism and Law Project (via teleconference) Law Council of Australia (Sub 4) Ms Rosemary Budavari, Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Unit Ms Sarah Moulds, Senior Policy Lawyer
11.45 am–12.15 pm	Australian Muslim Civil Rights Advocacy Network (Sub 14) Mr Asmi Wood
12.15–1.00 pm	Attorney General's Department Mr Geoff McDonald, First Assistant Secretary, National Security Law and Policy Division Ms Maree Hume, Principal Legal Officer Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Mr Garry Fleming, Assistant Secretary, Border Protection and Law Enforcement Branch