

Senate Finance and Public Administration References Committee

Chair Senator Cory Bernardi

Deputy Chair Senator Helen Polley

Members Senator Doug Cameron Senator Stephen Parry Senator Scott Ryan Senator Rachel Siewert

Participating Members Senator Steve Fielding Senator Scott Ludlam Senator Nick Xenophon

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary Senate Finance and Public Administration References Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel:02 6277 3530Fax:02 6277 5809

Email: fpa.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/fapa_ctte/

Inquiry into independent arbitration of public interest immunity claims

Date	Monday, 7 December 2009
Time	9.00 am–4.00 pm
Venue	Level 6, Clifton Suites
	190 George Street, Sydney

9.00–9.45 am	Victorian Legislative Council (Sub 5)
	Mr Wayne Tunnecliffe, <i>Clerk of the Legislative Council</i>
9.45–10.45 am	NSW Legislative Council (Sub 6)
	Ms Lynn Lovelock, Clerk of the Parliaments
10.45–11.00 am	Break
11.00–11.45 am	Dr Anne Twomey (Sub 2)
	Associate Professor of Law, University of Sydney
11.45–12.30 pm	Mr Harry Evans (Sub 4)
	Former Clerk of the Senate
	(via videoconference)
12.30–2.10 pm	Lunch Break
2.10–2.40 pm	Auditor-General (Submission 8)
	Mr Ian McPhee, Auditor-General
	Mr Russell Coleman, <i>Principal Auditor</i> (via videoconference)
2.40–3.20 pm	Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
2.40–3.20 pm	(no submission)
	Ms Philippa Lynch, First Assistant Secretary,
	Government Division
	Mr David Macgill, Assistant Secretary, Parliamentary and Government Branch
	ana Government Branch
	Attorney-General's Department (no submission) TBC
	(via videoconference)
3.20–4.00 pm	Sir Laurence Street (Sub 7)
	Former Chief Justice, Supreme Court of NSW
	Independent Arbiter, NSW Legislative Council