The Senate

# Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade References Committee

The effectiveness of Australia's military justice system

June 2005

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005

ISBN 064271424X

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

# **Members of the Committee**

Senator Steve Hutchins, Chairman; New South Wales, ALP Senator Sandy Macdonald, Deputy Chairman; New South Wales, NATS Senator John Hogg; Queensland, ALP Senator David Johnston; Western Australia, LP Senator Sue Mackay; Tasmania, ALP (appointed 29.11.2004) Senator Gavin Marshall; Victoria, ALP (discharged 29.11.2004) Senator Aden Ridgeway; New South Wales, AD

#### **Substitute Member**

Senator Bartlett to replace Senator Ridgeway for the committee's inquiry into the effectiveness of the Australian military justice system

Senator Evans to replace Senator Marshall for the committee's inquiry into the effectiveness of the Australian military justice system

## **Participating members**

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz; Tasmania, LP Senator Andrew Bartlett; Queensland, AD Senator the Hon Ron Boswell; Queensland, NATS Senator George Brandis; Oueensland, LP Senator Bob Brown; Tasmania, AG Senator George Campbell; New South Wales, ALP Senator Kim Carr; Victoria, ALP Senator Grant Chapman; South Australia, LP Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck; Tasmania, LP Senator Jacinta Mary Ann Collins; Victoria, ALP Senator Stephen Conroy; Victoria, ALP Senator the Hon Helen Coonan; New South Wales, LP Senator Trish Crossin; Northern Territory, ALP Senator Kay Denman; Tasmania, ALP Senator Alan Eggleston; Western Australia, LP Senator Christopher Evans; Western Australia, ALP Senator the Hon John Faulkner; New South Wales, ALP Senator Alan Ferguson; South Australia, LP Senator Jeannie Ferris; South Australia, LP Senator Mitch Fifield; Victoria, LP Senator Michael Forshaw; New South Wales, ALP Senator Brian Harradine; Tasmania, Ind Senator Linda Kirk; South Australia, ALP Senator Sue Knowles; Western Australia, LP Senator Ross Lightfoot; Western Australia, LP Senator Joseph William Ludwig; Queensland, ALP Senator Brett Mason; Queensland, LP Senator Julian McGauran; Victoria, NPA

Senator Kerry Nettle; New South Wales, AG Senator Marise Payne; New South Wales, LP Senator Robert Francis Ray; Victoria, ALP Senator Santo Santoro; Queensland, LP Senator Natasha Stott Despoja; South Australia, AD Senator Tsebin Tchen; Victoria, LP Senator John Watson; Tasmania, LP

## Secretariat

Dr Kathleen Dermody, Secretary (from November 2004) Ms Peta Leemen, Principal Research Officer Ms Jessica Shaw, Acting Principal Research Officer Ms Pam Corrigan, Research Officer Ms Jenene James, Acting Research Officer Ms Angela Lancsar, Executive Assistant

Ms Saxon Patience, Acting Secretary (until November 2004) Dr Pauline Moore, Principal Research Officer (until March 2005) Ms Anne Flynn, Principal Research Officer (until November 2004)

Suite S1.57 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

T: 61 2 6277 3535

F: 61 2 6277 5818

E: <u>fadt.sen@aph.gov.au</u>

W: www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/fadt ctte/index.htm