APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, 18 October 2000—Fremantle

City of Fremantle

Ms Jill Gaynor, Land Use Planner

Mr Ray Glickman, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Johnston, Councillor

Ms Agnieshka Kiera, Heritage Architect Planner

Mr Richard Utting, Mayor, City of Fremantle

University of Notre Dame

Mr Terry Craig, Campus Services Manager

Dr Peter Tannock, Vice-Chancellor

Thursday, 19 October 2000—Fremantle

Army Museum of Western Australia Foundation

Mr Paul Bridges, Deputy Curator

Mr James Dalton, Board Member

Mr John Deykin, Board Chairman

Mrs Dale Olson, Secretary, Board of Management

Mr John Sweetman, Board Member

City precinct of the City of Fremantle

Mr John-Baron Gordon, Precinct Convenor

Fremantle Society

Mr John Dowson, President

Mr Trevor Knowles, Secretary

Military Historical Society of Australia (WA Branch)

Mr Peter Bamworth, Secretary and Treasurer

Mr Malcolm Higham, Member

Mr John Sweetman, Member

Mundaring and Hills Historical Society

Mrs Judith Love, Vice President

Residents Action Group and Precinct 3, City of Fremantle

Mr Stephen Anstey, Spokesperson

Mr Patrick Howard, Member

Returned and Services League of Australia, Western Australian Branch

Mr Ken Bladen, State President

Mr Don Hall, Member, State Executive

Mr Geoff Hourne, Member, State Executive

Royal Western Australian Historical Society (Inc.)

Mr Ronald Bodycoat, Member of Council and Honorary Architect

Private capacity

Dr Ian Alexander

Mr Paul Bridges

Mr Peter Dobie

Mr John-Baron Gordon

Mr Ian Handcock

Mr William Haskell

Mr Royce Kerridge

Mr Anthony Lloyd

Mr Brian Lockwood

Mr Douglas McPherson

Major General Ken Taylor

Mr Allan Henry Taylor

Mr Norman Wells

Friday, 10 November 2000—Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Ross Kenneth Bain, Acting Head, Defence Estate

Ms Liz Clark, Acting Assistant Secretary, Property Management

Mr Rodney Corey, Acting Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services

Mr Roger Lee, Head, Army History Unit

Mr Brian Manns, Deputy Head, Army History Unit

Brigadier George Yacoub, Director, General Preparedness and Plans, Army

Australian Heritage Commission

Dr Ken Heffernan, Assistant Director, Historic Environment Advice Section

Mr Bruce Herbert, Executive Director, Australian Heritage Review

Western Australia Army Museum Foundation

Mr Paul Bridges, Deputy Curator

Friday, 16 February 2001—Melbourne

City of Wyndham

Mr Greg Malcomson, Director, Economic Development and Asset Management

Hobsons Bay City Council

Mr Kenneth McNamara, Chief Executive Officer

Point Cook Airfield Preservation Action Group

Mr Colin Grey, Chairman

Mr Ian Leslie, Member

Mr Mark Pilkington, Secretary

Point Cook Operations Limited

Air Vice Marshal Peter Scully (RAAF retired), Chairman

RMIT University

Mr Martyn Hayes, Program Director, Aviation Service

Royal Victorian Aero Club

Mr Kerin Brice, Past Vice-President

Save Afton Street Hill Group

Mrs Patricia Langenbacher, GroupMember

Ms Jennifer Lee, Member

Mr Pol McMahon, Member, also member of Friends of the Maribyrnong Valley

Ms Julia Gillard, Federal Member for Lalor

Monday, 26 February 2001—Canberra

Department of Finance and Administration

Mr Stephen Bartos, General Manager, Budget Group

Ms Kathryn Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Property Group

Mr Paul Ferrari, Acting Branch Manager, Competitive Tendering and Grants Branch

National Capital Authority

Mr Shamsul Huda, Senior Town Planner

Mr David Wright, Director, (Development Approval)

Returned and Services League of Australia

Brigadier Grahame Hellyer (retired), Member, National Defence Committee

Monday, 5 March 2001—Canberra

Humane Society International

Ms Sophie Chapple, Environmental Legislation Coordinator

Ms Sally Stephens, 'Bush for Wildlife' National Coordinator

Australian Council of National Trusts

Mr Alan Graham, Executive Officer

Dr Susan Marsden, National Conservation Manager

Royal Australian Planning Institute

Mr Neil Head, National Executive Director

Mr John McInerney, National Honorary Treasurer and President Elect

Friday, 16 March 2001—Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Ross Bain, Assistant Secretary, Property Management

Mr Bernard Blackley, Director, Defence Estate

Mr Rodney Corey, Head Defence Estate

Ms Liz Clarke, Director, Property Disposals, Defence Estate

KFPW Limited

Ms Monique Belli, Client Manager

Fitzwalter and Associates Pty Ltd

Mr Anthony Fitzsimmons, Planning and Development Manager

Minter Ellison

Mr Craig Kelly, Partner

Monday, 2 April 2001—Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Ross Bain, Assistant Secretary, Property Management

Mr Bernard Blackley, Director, Defence Estate

Mr Rodney Corey, Head Defence Estate

Ms Liz Clarke, Director, Property Disposals, Defence Estate

National Project Consultants Pty Ltd

Mr Nigel Macdonald, Director

Fitzwalter and Associates Pty Ltd

Mr Trevor Sier, Development Manager