

Senate Standing Legislation Committee on Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Committee

Senator Gavin Marshall (Chair)
Senator Gary Humphries
Senator Catryna Bilyk
Senator Michaelia Cash
Senator Jacinta Collins
Senator Hanson-Young (replaced by
Senator Rachel Siewert for this inquiry)

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Mr John Carter Committee Secretary PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3520 **Fax:** 02 6277 5706 **Mob:** 0416 277 018

Email: eewr.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/Senate/committee/ee t_ctte/index.htm

Inquiry into the provisions of the Building and Construction Industry Improvement Amendment (Transition to Fair Work) Bill 2009 Public Hearing

Date Monday, 31August 2009

Venue St James Court Conference & Function Centre, St James

Centre, 12 Batman Street, Melbourne

Cent	re, 12 Batman Street, Melbourne	
9.00–9.45am	The Law Institute of Victoria Sub.	17
	Mr Chris Molnar, Partner, Accredited Specialist, Workplace Relations, McKean Park Lawyers Mr Philip Brewin, Director, Nevett Ford	
9.45–10.30 am	Australian Council of Trade Unions Mr Jeff Lawrence, Secretary Ms Cath Bowtell, Senior Industrial Officer	.19
10.30–10.45am	Morning tea	
10.45–11.30am	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Sub.11	y
	Mr David Gregory, Workplace Policy Director Mr Daniel Mammone, Manager, Workplace Relations & Legal Affairs	
11.30-12.15pm	Australian Industry Group Sub.	10
	Ms Heather Ridout, Chief Executive	
	Mr Stephen Smith, <i>Director, National Workplace Relations</i>	
	Mr Jim Barrett, Associate Director, Construction a Infrastructure and Executive Director, Australian Constructors Association	ınd
12.15-1.15pm	Lunch	
1.15-2.00pm	Mr Greg Quinn Sub 2	22
	Managing Director, Hutchinson Builders	
2.00-2.45pm	Master Builders Association Mr Wilhelm Harnisch, CEO	13
	Mr Richard Calver, National Director Industrial Relations	
2.45-3.00pm	Afternoon tea	
3.00-3.45pm	Combined Construction Unions Mr Dave Noonan, National Secretary Mr Tom Roberts, Senior National Legal Officer	18



Senate Standing Legislation Committee on Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Committee

Senator Gavin Marshall (Chair)
Senator Gary Humphries
Senator Catryna Bilyk
Senator Michaelia Cash
Senator Jacinta Collins
Senator Hanson-Young (replaced by
Senator Rachel Siewert for this inquiry)

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Mr John Carter Committee Secretary Senate Standing Committee on Education, Employment & Workplace Relations PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3520 **Fax:** 02 6277 5706 **Mob:** 0416 277 018

Email: eewr.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/Senate/committee/ee t_ctte/index.htm

3.45-4.30pm	DEEWR Sub.21 Mr John Kovacic, Deputy Secretary Workplace Relations Mr Michael Maynard, Group Manager, Workplace Relations Implementation Group Mr Peter Cully, Branch Manager, Workplace Relations Legal Group Mr Jeff Willing, Branch Manager, Building Industry Branch
4.30-5.00pm	Office of the Australian Building and Construction Commissioner Hon John Lloyd, ABC Commissioner Mr Ross Dalgleish, Deputy Commissioner Mr Leigh Johns, Deputy Commissioner
5.00pm	Adjournment