

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Chair

Senator Annette Hurley

Deputy Chair

Senator Alan Eggleston

Members

Senator David Bushby Senator Doug Cameron Senator Mark Furner Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt Senator Nick Xenophon

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Standing Committee on Economics PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 **Fax:** 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into matters relating to the gas explosion at Varanus Island, Western Australia

Date Tuesday, 28 October 2008

Start 11.15am

Venue Committee Room 2S3

Address Parliament House, Canberra, ACT

11.15am-11.30am	Insurance Council of Australia (by teleconference) Mr Karl Sullivan, General Manager, Policy, Risk and Disaster Planning Directorate
	Mr Nicholas Scofield, General Manager, Corporate Affairs, Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd
11.30am-12.30pm	Australian Government
	Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism Mr John Griffiths, General Manager, Energy Security Branch Mr Martin Squire, A/General Manager, Offshore Resources Branch Mr Demus King, Manager, Australian Energy Security, Energy Security Branch Ms Kristina Anastasi, Manager, Environment, Safety and Security, Offshore Resources Branch Mr Josh Cosgrave, Assistant Manager, Australian Energy Security, Energy Security Branch Ms Linda Tindall-Mather, Assistant Manager, Environment, Safety and Security, Offshore Resources Branch Mr Michael Gairdner, Assistant Manager, Environment, Safety and Security, Offshore Resources Branch
	Geoscience Australia Mr Russell Hay, Project Leader, Critical Infrastructure Project Mr Denis Waters, Senior Economist
	Attorney-General's Department Mr Michael Jerks, Assistant Secretary, Critical Infrastructure Protection Branch
12.30pm	Adjournment