

THE AUSTRALIAN NUCLEAR FREE ALLIANCE



Formed in 1997, the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (formerly the Alliance Against Uranium) brings together Aboriginal people and relevant NGO's concerned about existing or proposed nuclear developments in Australia, particularly on Aboriginal homelands.

The Alliance provides a forum for sharing of knowledge, skills and experience. It is an opportunity to come together and find strength through our shared aims to protect country and culture from nuclear developments. The Alliance helped to build the successful campaign to stop the Jabiluka uranium mine in the Northern Territory, and more recently, a proposed national nuclear waste dump in South Australia. Currently, Aboriginal communities face a wave of uranium exploration, several proposed new uranium mines, and a proposed national nuclear waste dump.

Alliance Structure and Contacts

The Alliance has a Committee with two co-chairs. A majority of the Committee members are Aboriginal people. Committee members are elected at the annual Alliance meeting. Kevin Buzzacott, an Arabunna elder from South Australia, is the honorary President of the Alliance.

The Alliance also has a number of working groups which report to the Committee, they are: fundraising; media; international outreach and solidarity; speaking tour; 2009 meeting organising group; newsletter; water; education; website.

Alliance Committee 2008-09

- Donna Jackson (Larrakia Nation) co-chair 61 (0)427 847186, <donna@teaca.org>
- Rebecca Bear-Wingfield (Kokatha) co-Chair 61 (0)411 518510, <bear.rebecca25@gmail.com>
- Jillian Marsh (Adnyamathanha)
- Martha Watts (Kokatha)
- Peter Watts (Kokatha)
- Sue Coleman Haseldine (Kokatha Mula)
- Nat Wasley (Arid Lands Environment Centre)
- Dave Sweeney (Australian Conservation Foundation)
- Steve Holdsworth (Friends of the Earth)

Administration:

Friends of the Earth (FoE) Melbourne administers funding for the Alliance.

More information

More information about the Alliance is posted at: <www.foe.org.au/antinuclear/issues/oz/alliance> or contact one of the co-chairs or committee members in your state or territory.