Inquiry into the Uranium Royalty (Northern Territory) Bill 2008

On 4 December 2008, the Senate referred the provisions of the Uranium Royalty (Northern Territory) Bill 2008 to the Senate Standing Committee on Economics for inquiry and report by 30 April 2009.

The bill seeks to apply a uniform royalty regime to all new mining projects in the Northern Territory containing uranium and other designated substances, such as thorium. This would be achieved by essentially mirroring the existing profits-based mineral royalty regime under the Northern Territory's *Minerals Royalty Act 1982* and applying it as a Commonwealth law.

The royalty regime would apply equally to projects on Aboriginal land, as defined by the *Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976*, and non-Aboriginal land in the Northern Territory. It would also protect the existing rights on Aboriginal land such that royalty payments made by the mine operator would be passed to the Northern Territory and an equivalent amount would be paid into the Aboriginals Benefit Account which assists Aboriginal people in the Northern Territory.

The Northern Territory Treasury would administer the royalty regime on the Commonwealth's behalf to provide consistency with the existing royalty regime for other minerals.

The Committee invites written submissions which should be sent to:

Committee Secretary
Senate Economics Committee
Department of the Senate
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Australia

The closing date for submissions is **Friday**, 13 **February 2009**.

The Committee requests that where possible, submissions should also be provided by email to economics.sen@aph.gov.au. Notes to assist in preparing submissions are available from the website http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit_sub/index.htm or telephone the Secretariat on 02 6277 3540, fax: 02 6277 5719, or email at the above address.

Once the Committee accepts your submission, it becomes a confidential committee document and is protected by Parliamentary Privilege. You must not release your submission without the Committee's permission. If you do, it is not protected by Parliamentary Privilege. At some stage during the inquiry, the Committee normally makes submissions public. Please indicate if you want your submission to be kept confidential.

Inquiries from hearing and speech impaired people should be directed to the Parliament House TTY number (02 6277 7799). Adobe also provides tools for the blind and visually impaired to access PDF documents. These tools are available at: http://access.adobe.com/. If you require any special arrangements in order to enable you to participate in a committee inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretary.

information. Committee's If need anv further consult the website vou at http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/inquiries.htm or contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 3540 (phone); (02) 6277 5719 (fax); or by email economics.sen@aph.gov.au; or by writing to the above address.