

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Chair

Senator Annette Hurley

Deputy Chair

Senator Alan Eggleston

Members

Senator David Bushby Senator Doug Cameron Senator Mark Furner Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt

Other Attending Senators Senator Steve Fielding

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Standing Committee on Economics PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 **Fax:** 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into:

Trade Practices Act Legislation Amendment Bill 2008

Trade Practices (Creeping Acquisitions) Amendment Bill 2007 [2008]

Date Tuesday, 5 August 2008

Start 8.30 am

Venue Rydges Melbourne Conference Room 3

186 Exhibition Street, Melbourne

8.30am-9.15am	Associate Professor Frank Zumbo School of Business Law and Taxation University of New South Wales
9.15am-10.00am	Treasury Mr Scott Rogers, Senior Adviser, Competition Framework Unit, Competition and Consumer Policy Division Mr Matthew Bowd, Policy Officer, Competition and Consumer Policy Division
10.00am–10.15am	Morning tea
10.15am-11.00am	Addisons Mr Graham Maher, Partner
11.00am-11.45am	Law Council of Australia Mr Ian Stewart, Barrister
11.45am-12.30pm	National Association of Retail Grocers of Australia (via teleconference)
	Mr Ken Henrick, Chief Executive Officer (Sydney) Mr Gerard van Rijswikj (Sydney) Mr John Cummings (Perth)
12.30pm-1.15pm	Consumer Action Law Centre Ms Catriona Lowe, Co-Chief Executive Officer Ms Nicole Rich, Director – Policy and Campaigns
1.30pm-2.30pm	Lunch (Locanda Cucina, Rydges, Ground Floor)