

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Chair Senator Annette Hurley

Deputy Chair Senator Alan Eggleston

Members Senator Doug Cameron Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt Senator Nick Xenophon

Substitute Member Senator Don Farrell

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary Senate Economics Legislation Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel:02 6277 3540Fax:02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into the Renewable Energy (Electricity) Amendment Bill 2009 and a related bill

DateWednesday 5 August 2009Start9.30amVenueCommittee Room 2S1
Parliament House, Canberra

9.30am–10.45am	Australian Government Department of Climate Change Mr Blair Comley, Deputy Secretary Mr Robert Raether, Assistant Secretary, Renewables and Reporting Branch Office of the Renewable Energy Regulator Mr Andrew Livingston, Renewable Energy Regulator
	Mr Amarjot Singh, Data, Audit and Compliance Manager The Treasury Ms Meghan Quinn PSM, General Manager, Macroeconomic Modelling Division
10.45am-11.00am	Morning tea
11.00am–11.45am	GE Energy (Sub. 86) – to be confirmed
11.45am–12.30pm	Business Council of Australia (by teleconference) (Sub. 122) Ms Maria Tarrant, Director, Policy
12.30pm–1.15pm	CSIRO Dr John Wright, Adviser, Sustainable Energy Partnerships
1.15pm–2.15pm	Lunch
2.15pm-3.00pm	Australian Industry Greenhouse Network (Sub. 59) Mr Michael Hitchens, Chief Executive Officer Ms Emma Watts, Senior Policy Adviser
3.00pm–3.45pm	Australian Geothermal Energy Association (Sub. 60) Ms Susan Jeanes, Chief Executive Officer Mr Alan Knights, Honorary Secretary
3.45pm-4.30pm	Renewable Fuels Australia Mr Robert Gordon, Executive Director
4.30pm-4.45pm	Afternoon tea
4.45pm-5.30pm	Clean Energy Council (Sub. 112) Mr Rob Jackson, General Manager, Policy Mr Matthew Warren, Executive Officer
5.30pm-6.15pm	Australian Conservation Foundation (Sub. 61) Mr Phil Freeman, Climate Change Campaigner
6.15pm–7.00pm	Gas Industry Alliance (Sub. 57) Mr Gregory Ellis, Industry Representative Mr Peter Harcus, Chairman, Gas Committee Mr Warring Neilsen, Chairman
7.00pm	Adjournment