The Senate

Standing Committee on Economics

Reserve Bank Amendment (Enhanced Independence) Bill 2008 [Provisions]

June 2008

© Commonwealth of Australia 2008

ISBN 978-0-642-71929-4

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Members

Senator Annette Hurley, Chair Senator Alan Eggleston, Deputy Chair Senator Mark Bishop Senator David Bushby Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Anne McEwen Senator Andrew Murray Senator Ruth Webber South Australia, ALP Western Australia, LP Western Australia, ALP Tasmania, LP Queensland, NATS South Australia, ALP Western Australia, AD Western Australia, ALP

Secretariat

Mr John Hawkins, Secretary Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Lyn Beverley, Principal Research Officer Ms Jo Woodbury, Senior Research Officer Ms Lauren McDougall, Executive Assistant Ms Hana Jones, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
Chapter 1	1
Introduction	
Background	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
Structure of the report	2
Chapter 2	3
Central bank independence	
Background	3
Empirical studies of the impact of central bank independence	4
Overseas practice in appointment and dismissal of governors	5
The reality and perception of central bank independence	7
Cross-party support for central bank independence	7
Chapter 3	9
Provisions of the bill	
Appointment procedures	11
Dismissal provisions	11
Comparison with dismissal provisions for other officeholders	14
The 'good behaviour' provisions	16
The 'override' provisions	17
Is the bill necessary given the current independence of the Reserve Bank?	18
Does the bill go far enough?	19
Increasing accountability of the Reserve Bank	20
Conclusions and recommendations	23
Coalition Senators' Dissenting Report	25
Introduction	
Misbehaviour	26
Submissions and Testimony	26
The Treasury	26

Saul Eslake	28
Stephen Bell	28
Steve Keen	29
Sinclair Davidson	29
Discussion	30
Conclusion	32
Attachment A	33
Appointment and Termination of Selected Statutory Office Ho	lders
Additional Remarks: Senator Andrew Murray	45
APPENDIX 1	49
Submissions Received	
APPENDIX 2	51
Public Hearing and Witnesses	