Inquiry into the Guarantee of State and Territory Borrowing Appropriation Bill 2009

Under the order of the Senate on 14 May 2009, the Guarantee of State and Territory Borrowing Appropriation Bill 2009 was referred to the Senate Economics Legislation Committee upon its introduction into the House of Representatives on 27 May 2009.

The Bill's purpose is to provide a standing appropriation to pay any possible future claims made under the Australian government's guarantee of state and territory borrowing. The guarantee aims to underpin state and territory borrowing to fund infrastructure development.

Reporting date is 16 June 2009.

The Committee invites written submissions which should be sent to:

Committee Secretary Senate Economics Committee Department of the Senate PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Australia

The closing date for submissions is **Tuesday**, 9 June 2009.

The Committee requests that where possible, submissions should also be provided by email to <u>economics.sen@aph.gov.au</u>. Notes to assist in preparing submissions are available from the website <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit_sub/index.htm</u> or telephone the Secretariat on 02 6277 3540, fax: 02 6277 5719, or email at the above address.

Once the Committee accepts your submission, it becomes a confidential committee document and is protected by Parliamentary Privilege. You must not release your submission without the Committee's permission. If you do, it is not protected by Parliamentary Privilege. At some stage during the inquiry, the Committee normally makes submissions public. Please indicate if you want your submission to be kept confidential.

Inquiries from hearing and speech impaired people should be directed to the Parliament House TTY number (02 6277 7799). Adobe also provides tools for the blind and visually impaired to access PDF documents. These tools are available at: http://access.adobe.com/. If you require any special arrangements in order to enable you to participate in a committee inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretary.

If you need further information. consult the Committee's website any at http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/inquiries.htm or contact the Committee Secretary 3540 (phone); (02) 6277 on (02)6277 5719 (fax): bv or email to economics.sen@aph.gov.au; or by writing to the above address.