The Senate

Economics Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Trade Practices Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 1) 2005

March 2005

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005

ISBN 0 642 71506 8

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Core Members

Senator George Brandis, Chair Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair Senator Grant Chapman Senator Andrew Murray Senator John Watson Senator Ruth Webber (Queensland, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (Western Australia, AD) (Tasmania, LP) (Western Australia, ALP)

Subsitute Members

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

Senator Lundy to replace Senator Webber for the committee's consideration of the provisions of the Trade Practices Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 1) 2005

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell Senator Bob Brown Senator Geoffrey Buckland Senator George Campbell Senator Kim Carr Senator John Cherry Senator The Hon Richard Colbeck Senator Stephen Conroy Senator the Hon Peter Cook Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Christopher Evans Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Mitch Fifield Senator Michael Forshaw Senator Brian Harradine Senator John Hogg Senator Linda Kirk Senator Susan Knowles Senator Ross Lightfoot Senator Joseph Ludwig Senator Kate Lundy Senator Sue Mackay Senator Gavin Marshall Senator Brett Mason

(Tasmania, LP) (Queensland, NATS) (Tasmania, AG) (South Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, ALP) (Victoria, ALP) (Queensland, AD) (Tasmania, LP) (Victoria, ALP) (Western Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, LP) (Western Australia, LP) (Western Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (South Australia, LP) (Victoria, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) (Tasmania, Ind) (Queensland, ALP) (South Australia, ALP) (Western Australia, LP) (Western Australia, LP) (Queensland, ALP) (Australian Capital Territory, ALP) (Tasmania, ALP) (Victoria, ALP) (Queensland, LP)

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS (Continued)

Senator Julian McGauran Senator Kerry O'Brien Senator Marise Payne Senator Robert Ray Senator Aden Ridgeway Senator the Hon Nick Sherry Senator Natasha Stott Despoja Senator Tsebin Tchen Senator John Tierney Senator Penny Wong (Victoria, NATS) (Tasmania, ALP) (New South Wales, LP) (Victoria, ALP) (New South Wales, AD) (Tasmania, ALP) (South Australia, AD) (Victoria, LP) (New South Wales, LP) (South Australia, ALP)

SECRETARIAT

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Bronwyn Meredith, Principal Research Officer Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Mr Dennis Pecar, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	111
CHAPTER 1 TRADE PRACTICES LEGISLATION	1
AMENDMENT BILL (NO. 1) 2005	1
Introduction	1
Background to the bill	1
Conduct of the inquiry	2
CHAPTER 2 SCHEDULE 1—MERGER CLEARANCES AND AUTHORISATIONS	3
Introduction	3
The provisions in Schedule 1	4
Merger clearances	4
Merger authorisations	6
CHAPTER 3 SCHEDULE 3—COLLECTIVE BARGAINING	9 9
Introduction	9
The provisions in Schedule 3	10
CHAPTER 4 SCHEDULE 7—THIRD LINE FORCING	13 13
Introduction	13
The provisions in Schedule 7	15
LABOR MEMBERS MINORITY REPORT	17
AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS MINORITY REPORT	21
APPENDIX 1 – Justice Goldberg's letter to the Committee	23
APPENDIX 2 – Submissions Received	25
APPENDIX 3 – Public Hearing	27