The Senate

Economics Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Tax Laws Amendment (Superannuation Reporting) Bill 2004

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004

ISBN 0 642 71465 7

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Core Members

Senator George Brandis, Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair

Senator Grant Chapman

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator John Watson

Senator Ruth Webber

(Queensland, LP)

(New South Wales, CL)

(South Australia, LP)

(Western Australia, AD)

(Tasmania, LP)

Subsitute Members

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (Tasmania, LP) Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell (Oueensland, NATS) (Tasmania, AG) Senator Bob Brown Senator Geoffrey Buckland (South Australia, ALP) Senator George Campbell (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Kim Carr (Victoria, ALP) Senator John Cherry (Queensland, AD) Senator The Hon Richard Colbeck (Tasmania, LP) Senator Stephen Conroy (Victoria, ALP) Senator the Hon Peter Cook (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (New South Wales, LP) Senator Alan Eggleston (Western Australia, LP) Senator Christopher Evans (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon John Faulkner (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Alan Ferguson (South Australia, LP) Senator Jeannie Ferris (South Australia, LP) Senator Mitch Fifield (Victoria, LP) Senator Michael Forshaw (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Brian Harradine (Tasmania, Ind) Senator John Hogg (Queensland, ALP) Senator Linda Kirk (South Australia, ALP) Senator Susan Knowles (Western Australia, LP) Senator Ross Lightfoot (Western Australia, LP) Senator Joseph Ludwig (Queensland, ALP) (Australian Capital Territory, ALP) Senator Kate Lundy Senator Sue Mackay (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (Victoria, ALP) Senator Brett Mason (Queensland, LP) Senator Julian McGauran (Victoria, NATS) Senator Kerry O'Brien (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Marise Payne (New South Wales, LP)

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS (Continued)

Senator Robert Ray
(Victoria, ALP)
Senator Aden Ridgeway
(New South Wales, AD)
Senator the Hon Nick Sherry
(Tasmania, ALP)
Senator Natasha Stott Despoja
(South Australia, AD)
Senator Tsebin Tchen
(Victoria, LP)
Senator John Tierney
(New South Wales, LP)
Senator Penny Wong
(South Australia, ALP)

SECRETARIAT

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Bronwyn Meredith, Principal Research Officer Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Kerry West, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540

Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
CHAPTER 1	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Purpose of the bill	1
Reference of the bill	1
Submissions	1
Acknowledgment	1
CHAPTER 2	3
THE BILL	3
Background	3
Issues raised in submissions	3
Possible amendments	7
Labor Senators Comments	9
Appendix 1	11