The Senate

Standing Committee on Economics

Tax Laws Amendment (2007 Measures No. 4) Bill 2007 [Provisions]

Taxation (Trustee Beneficiary Non–disclosure Tax) Bill (No. 1) 2007 [Provisions]

Taxation (Trustee Beneficiary Non–disclosure Tax) Bill (No. 2) 2007 [Provisions]

August 2007

© Commonwealth of Australia 2007

ISBN 978-0-642-71845-7

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Members

Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson, Chair Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair Senator Cory Bernardi Senator Grant Chapman Senator Annette Hurley Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Andrew Murray Senator Ruth Webber Victoria, LP New South Wales, ALP South Australia, LP South Australia, ALP Queensland, NATS Western Australia, AD Western Australia, ALP

Secretariat

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Dr Andrew Gaczol, Principal Research Officer Dr Richard Grant, Senior Research Officer Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Mr Glenn Ryall, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Lauren McDougall, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
Chapter 1	1
Introduction	
Reference	1
Background to the bill	1
Outline of the bill	1
Chapter 2	3
The bill	
Schedule 1—Foreign loss and foreign tax credit amendments	3
Schedule 2—Capital gains tax roll-over provisions	4
Schedule 3—Superannuation investment amendments	4
Schedule 4—Trust disclosure reforms	5
Schedule 5—Transitional Simplified Superannuation amendments	7
Schedule 6—Deductible gift recipients	8
Schedule 7—Miscellaneous amendments	9
Schedule 8—Family trust loss regime amendments	10
Chapter 3	13
Issues	
Introduction	13
Responses to the Bill	13
Treasury responses	15
Committee conclusions	16
APPENDIX 1	17
Submissions Received	
APPENDIX 2	19
Public Hearing and Witnesses	