The Senate

Economics Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Tax Laws Amendment (2006 Measures No. 3) Bill 2006

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.					

© Commonwealth of Australia 2006

ISBN 0 642 71679 X

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Members

Senator George Brandis, Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair

Senator Grant Chapman

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator John Watson

Senator Ruth Webber

Queensland, LP

New South Wales, ALP

South Australia, LP

Western Australia, AD

Tasmania, LP

Subsitute Members

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

Secretariat

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Jenene James, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Kerry West, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540

Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics_ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Legislation Commiteee	iii
CHAPTER 1	1
Introduction	
Background	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
CHAPTER 2	3
The Schedules	
Introduction	3
Schedule 5	3
Schedule 9	4
Schedule 11	5
Schedule 12	7
Schedule 15	8
Additional Remarks of Labor Senators	15
Appendix 1	19
Submissions received	
Appendix 2	21
Public hearing and witnesses	