## **Inquiry into the Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007**

On 29 March 2007, the Senate referred the Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007 to the Committee for report by 8 May 2007.

This bill is intended to give effect to many of the recommendations arising out of the ACIL Tasman review of the *Liquid Fuel Emergency Act 1984*. The bill will improve the administration and economic efficiency of the government's national liquid fuel emergency response arrangements, and provide the government with a range of powers to prepare for and manage a prospective liquid fuel emergency.

The Committee invites written submissions which should be sent to:

Committee Secretary
Senate Economics Committee
Department of the Senate
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Australia

The closing date for submissions is **Friday**, 13 April 2007.

The Committee requests that where possible, submissions should also be provided by email to *economics.sen@aph.gov.au*, preferably as MS Word or RTF format documents. Notes to assist in preparing submissions are available from the website <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit\_sub/index.htm">http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit\_sub/index.htm</a> or telephone the Secretariat on 02 6277 3540, fax: 02 6277 5719, or e-mail at the above address.

Once the Committee accepts your submission, it becomes a confidential committee document and is protected by Parliamentary Privilege. You must **not** release your submission without the Committee's permission. If you do, it is not protected by Parliamentary Privilege. At some stage during the inquiry, the Committee normally makes submissions public. Please indicate if you want your submission to be kept confidential.

Inquiries from hearing and speech impaired people should be directed to the Parliament House TTY number (02 6277 7799). Adobe also provides tools for the blind and visually impaired to access PDF documents. These tools are available at: <a href="http://access.adobe.com/">http://access.adobe.com/</a>. If you require any special arrangements in order to enable you to participate in a committee inquiry, please contact the Committee Secretary.

If you need any further information, contact the Committee's Inquiry Secretary Mr Peter Hallahan, on (02) 6277 3541 (phone), (02) 6277 5719 (fax); or by email to *economics.sen@aph.gov.au* or by writing to:

Committee Secretary Senate Economics Committee Department of the Senate PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Australia

Phone: +61 2 6277 3540 Fax: +61 2 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au