The Senate

# **Economics Legislation Committee**

Provisions of the Trade Practices Amendment (National Access Regime) Bill 2005

September 2005

© Commonwealth of Australia 2005

ISBN 0 642 71575 0

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

### **Senate Economics Legislation Committee**

#### **Core Members**

Senator George Brandis, Chair Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair Senator Grant Chapman Senator Andrew Murray Senator John Watson Senator Ruth Webber (Queensland, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (Western Australia, AD) (Tasmania, LP) (Western Australia, ALP)

#### **Subsitute Members**

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

#### **PARTICIPATING MEMBERS**

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Senator Judith Adams Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell Senator Bob Brown Senator George Campbell Senator Kim Carr Senator The Hon Richard Colbeck Senator Stephen Conroy Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Christopher Evans Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Steve Fielding Senator Mitch Fifield Senator Michael Forshaw Senator John Hogg Senator Linda Kirk Senator Ross Lightfoot Senator Joseph Ludwig Senator Kate Lundy Senator Gavin Marshall Senator Brett Mason Senator Julian McGauran Senator Christine Milne Senator Andrew Murray

(Tasmania, LP) (Western Australia, LP) (Queensland, AD) (Queensland, NATS) (Tasmania, AG) (New South Wales, ALP) (Victoria, ALP) (Tasmania, LP) (Victoria, ALP) (New South Wales, LP) (Western Australia, LP) (Western Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (South Australia, LP) (Victoria, FFP) (Victoria, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) (Queensland, ALP) (South Australia, ALP) (Western Australia, LP) (Queensland, ALP) (Australian Capital Territory, ALP) (Victoria, ALP) (Queensland, LP) (Victoria, NATS) (Tasmania, AG) (Western Australia, AD)

#### **PARTICIPATING MEMBERS (Continued)**

Senator Kerry O'Brien Senator Marise Payne Senator Robert Ray Senator the Hon Nick Sherry Senator Rachael Siewert Senator Natasha Stott Despoja Senator Penny Wong

(Tasmania, ALP) (New South Wales, LP) (Victoria, ALP) (Tasmania, ALP) (Western Australia, AG) (South Australia, AD) (South Australia, ALP)

### **SECRETARIAT**

Mr Peter Hallahan, Secretary Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Mr Alex Olah, Principal Research Officer Ms Kerry West, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics\_ctte/index.htm

## **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

Membership of Committee	iii
CHAPTER 1	1
Introduction	1
Background	1
Conduct of the inquiry	1
Report	1
Productivity Commission Review of the National Access Regime	2
CHAPTER 2	5
The Bill	5
Introduction	5
Pricing principles	5
Objects clause	13
Declaration criteria	15
Other issues raised in submissions	16
Appendix 1	21
Submissions received	21
Appendix 2	23
Public hearing and witnesses	23