The Senate

Economics Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Textile, Clothing and Footwear Strategic Investment Program Amendment (Post-2005 scheme) Bill 2004 and the Customs Tariff Amendment (Textile, Clothing and Footwear Post-2005 Arrangements) Bill 2004

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.	

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004

ISBN 0 642 71439 8

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Core Members

Senator George Brandis, Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair

Senator Grant Chapman

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator John Watson

Senator Ruth Webber

(Queensland, LP)

(New South Wales, CL)

(South Australia, LP)

(Western Australia, AD)

(Tasmania, LP)

Subsitute Members

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

Senator O'Brien to replace Senator Webber for matters relating to tourism

Senator Ridgeway to replace Senator Murray for the committee's inquiry into the provisions of the Textile, Clothing and Footwear Strategic Investment Program Amendment (Post-2005 scheme) Bill 2004 and the Customs Tariff Amendment (Textile, Clothing and Footwear Post-2005 Arrangements) Bill 2004

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (Tasmania, LP) Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell (Queensland, NATS) Senator Bob Brown (Tasmania, AG) Senator Geoffrey Buckland (South Australia, ALP) Senator George Campbell (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Kim Carr (Victoria, ALP) Senator John Cherry (Queensland, AD) Senator Richard Colbeck (Tasmania, LP) Senator Stephen Conrov (Victoria, ALP) Senator the Hon Peter Cook (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (New South Wales, LP) Senator Alan Eggleston (Western Australia, LP) Senator Christopher Evans (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon John Faulkner (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Alan Ferguson (South Australia, LP) Senator Jeannie Ferris (South Australia, LP) Senator Mitch Fifield (Victoria, LP) Senator Michael Forshaw (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Brian Harradine (Tasmania, Ind) Senator Leonard Harris (Queensland, PHON) Senator Linda Kirk (South Australia, ALP) Senator Susan Knowles (Western Australia, LP) Senator Meg Lees (South Australia, APA) Senator Ross Lightfoot (Western Australia, LP) Senator Joseph Ludwig (Queensland, ALP)

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS (Continued)

Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Capital Territory, ALP) Senator Sue Mackay (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (Victoria, ALP) Senator Brett Mason (Queensland, LP) Senator Julian McGauran (Victoria, NATS) Senator Shayne Murphy (Tasmania, Ind) Senator Kerry O'Brien (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Marise Payne (New South Wales, LP) Senator Aden Ridgeway (New South Wales, AD) Senator the Hon Nick Sherry (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (South Australia, AD) Senator Tsebin Tchen (Victoria, LP) Senator John Tierney (New South Wales, LP) (South Australia, ALP) Senator Penny Wong

SECRETARIAT

Dr Sarah Bachelard, Secretary Dr Anthony Marinac, Principal Research Officer Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Kerry West, Estimates/Research Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600
Ph: 02 6277 3540
Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
Chapter One	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Purpose of the Bills	1
Reference of the Bills	1
Submissions	2
Hearings and Evidence	2
Chapter Two	3
THE BILLS	3
Elements of the TCF Industry	3
History of protection for the TCF industries	4
Future tariff reductions	5
The Strategic Investment Program (SIP)	6
Provisions of the current bills	9
Chapter Three	13
ISSUES	13
The SIP and small and medium businesses	13
Market access	15
SIP funding after 2009	16
Support for high value exports	17
Support for research and development	18
Support for value adding	19
Reduction in SIP grant types	20
Regional impacts	20

Rate reductions from Australia's trading partners	22
Interaction with the Australia-USA Free Trade Agreement	23
Other issues	25
Recommendation	28
Labor Senators Dissenting Report	29
Australian Democrats Dissenting Report	39
Appendix 1	41
Appendix 2	43