The Senate

Economics Legislation Committee

Superannuation Budget Measures Bill 2004, Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 1) Bill 2004 and Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 2) Bill 2004

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.	

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004

ISBN 0 642 71418 5

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Core Members

Senator George Brandis, Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens, Deputy Chair

Senator Grant Chapman

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator John Watson

Senator Ruth Webber

(Queensland, LP)

(New South Wales, CL)

(South Australia, LP)

(Western Australia, AD)

(Tasmania, LP)

Subsitute Members

Senator Allison to replace Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio

Senator O'Brien to replace Senator Webber for matters relating to tourism

Senator Cherry to replace Senator Murray for the committee's inquiry into the Superannuation Budget Measures Bill 2004, the Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 1) Bill 2004 and the Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 2) Bill 2004

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (Tasmania, LP) Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell (Queensland, NATS) Senator Bob Brown (Tasmania, AG) Senator Geoffrey Buckland (South Australia, ALP) Senator George Campbell (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Kim Carr (Victoria, ALP) Senator John Cherry (Queensland, AD) Senator Stephen Conroy (Victoria, ALP) Senator the Hon Peter Cook (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (New South Wales, LP) Senator Alan Eggleston (Western Australia, LP) Senator Christopher Evans (Western Australia, ALP) Senator the Hon John Faulkner (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Alan Ferguson (South Australia, LP) Senator Jeannie Ferris (South Australia, LP) Senator Mitch Fifield (Victoria, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) Senator Michael Forshaw Senator Brian Harradine (Tasmania, Ind) Senator Leonard Harris (Queensland, PHON) Senator Linda Kirk (South Australia, ALP) Senator Susan Knowles (Western Australia, LP) (South Australia, APA) Senator Meg Lees Senator Ross Lightfoot (Western Australia, LP) Senator Joseph Ludwig (Queensland, ALP) Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Capital Territory, ALP)

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS (Continued)

Senator Sue Mackay (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Gavin Marshall (Victoria, ALP) (Queensland, LP) Senator Brett Mason (Victoria, NATS) Senator Julian McGauran Senator Shayne Murphy (Tasmania, Ind) Senator Kerry O'Brien (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Marise Payne (New South Wales, LP) Senator Aden Ridgeway (New South Wales, AD) Senator the Hon Nick Sherry (Tasmania, ALP) Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (South Australia, AD) Senator Tsebin Tchen (Victoria, LP) Senator John Tierney (New South Wales, LP) Senator Penny Wong (South Australia, ALP)

SECRETARIAT

Dr Sarah Bachelard, Secretary Dr Anthony Marinac, Principal Research Officer Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Diane Warhurst, Estimates Officer Ms Judith Wuest, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540

Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics ctte/index.htm

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of Committee	iii
CHAPTER 1	1
INTRODUCTION	1
Background	1
Purpose of the bills	1
Reference of the bills	1
Submissions	1
Hearings and evidence	2
Acknowledgment	2
CHAPTER 2	3
THE BILLS	3
Superannuation Budget Measures Bill 2004	3
Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 1) Bill 2004	6
Superannuation Laws Amendment (2004 Measures No. 2) Bill 2004	8
Conclusion	10
Recommendation	11
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS BY LABOR SENATORS	13
Appendix 1	17
Appendix 2	19