Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

SENATE ECONOMICS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

INQUIRY INTO MASS MARKETED TAX EFFECTIVE SCHEMES AND INVESTOR PROTECTION

FINAL REPORT

ISBN 0642711429
Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Core Members

Senator B Gibson (Acting Chair) (Tasmania, LP) (Deputy Chair; Ag Chair 01.10.01)

Senator G Chapman (South Australia, LP) Senator S Conroy (Victoria, ALP)

Senator P Cook (Western Australia, ALP)

Senator S Murphy (Tasmania, Ind) (Chair 30.11.98 to 01.10.01)

Senator A Ridgeway (New South Wales, AD)

Substitute Members

Senator Allison to substitute for Senator Ridgeway for matters relating to resources Senator Murray to substitute for Senator Ridgeway for the Committee's inquiry into mass marketed tax effective schemes and investor protection

Participating Members

Senator E Abetz (Tasmania, LP)
Senator R Boswell (Queensland, NP)
Senator G Brandis (Queensland, LP)
Senator B Brown (Tasmania, AG)
Senator P Calvert (Tasmania, LP)

Senator G Campbell (New South Wales, ALP) Senator H Coonan (New South Wales, LP) Senator W Crane (Western Australia, LP) Senator A Eggleston (Western Australian, LP) Senator J Faulkner (New South Wales, ALP) Senator A Ferguson (South Australia, LP) Senator J Ferris (South Australia, LP) Senator B Harradine (Tasmania, Ind) Senator L Harris (Queensland, PHON) Senator S Knowles (Western Australia, LP) Senator R Lightfoot (Western Australia, LP)

Senator B Mason (Queensland, LP) Senator J McGauran (Victoria, NPA)

Senator A Murray (Western Australia, AD) Senator M Payne (New South Wales, LP)

Senator N Sherry (Tasmania, ALP) Senator T Tchen (Victoria, LP)

Senator J Tierney (New South Wales, LP)

Senator J Watson (Tasmania, LP)

Secretariat

Peter Hallahan, Secretary Alistair Sands, Principal Research Officer Sarah Bachelard, Senior Research Officer Angela Lancsar, Executive Assistant

SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fx: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics ctte/index.htm