The Senate

# **Economics Legislation Committee**

Inspector-General of Taxation Bill 2002

December 2002

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002

ISSN 1324-2830

Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

### **Senate Economics Legislation Committee**

#### **Core Members**

Senator George Brandis, Chairman Senator Jacinta Collins, Deputy Chair Senator Grant Chapman Senator Andrew Murray Senator John Watson Senator Ruth Webber (Queensland, LP) (Victoria, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (Western Australia, AD) (Tasmania, LP) (Western Australia, ALP)

#### **Substitute Members**

Senator Allison replaces Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio.

#### **Participating Members**

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell Senator Geoffrey Buckland Senator George Campbell Senator Kim Carr Senator John Cherry Senator Stephen Conroy Senator the Hon Peter Cook Senator the Hon Helen Coonan Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Christopher Evans Senator the Hon John Faulkner Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Michael Forshaw Senator Brian Harradine Senator Leonard Harris Senator Linda Kirk Senator Susan Knowles Senator Meg Lees Senator Ross Lightfoot Senator Joseph Ludwig Senator Kate Lundy Senator Brett Mason Senator Julian McGauran Senator Shayne Murphy Senator Marise Payne Senator Aden Ridgeway Senator the Hon Nick Sherry Senator Natasha Stott Despoja Senator Tsebin Tchen Senator John Tierney

(Tasmania, LP) (Queensland, NPA) (South Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, ALP) (Victoria, ALP) (Queensland AD) (Victoria, ALP) (Western Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, LP) (Western Australia, LP) (Western Australia, ALP) (New South Wales, ALP) (South Australia, LP) (South Australia, LP) (New South Wales, ALP) (Tasmania, Ind) (Queensland, PHON) (South Australia, ALP) (Western Australia, LP) (South Australia, Ind) (Western Australia, LP) (Queensland, ALP) (Australian Capital Territory, ALP) (Queensland, LP) (Victoria, NPA) (Tasmania, Ind) (New South Wales, LP) (New South Wales, AD) (Tasmania, ALP) (South Australia, AD) (Victoria, LP) (New South Wales, LP)

Secretariat Kerry Olsson, Principal Research Officer

Kathleen Dermody (Dr), Secretary Angela Lancsar, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719 E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics\_ctte/index.htm

## Contents

Membership of the Committee	iii
CHAPTER 1	
Inquiry into Inspector-General of Taxation Bill 2002	1
Background	1
Purpose of the Bill	1
Reference of the Bill	1
Submissions	1
Hearing and Evidence	2
Acknowledgment	2
CHAPTER 2	
The Provisions of the Bill	3
Background	3
The concept of an Inspector-General of Taxation	4
The object of the Bill	5
Establishment of the office	7
The functions of the office	8
CHAPTER 3	
Duplication and Relationships	13
Introduction	13
Powers in respect to the Commissioner of Taxation	13
The Inspector-General and the Board of Taxation	14
The Inspector-General and the Ombudsman	15
CHAPTER 4	
Independence, Transparency and Resourcing	19
Introduction	19
Work program	19
Information gathering powers	21
Legal professional privilege	21
Reporting and publication	22

Budget	27
Review of the office	28
CHAPTER 5	
Conclusion	29
SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT BY SENATOR ANDREW MURRAY: AUSTRALIAN DEMOCRATS	31
LABOR MEMBERS MINORITY REPORT	37
APPENDIX 1	
List of Public Submissions	43
APPENDIX 2	
Public Hearing and Witnesses	45
APPENDIX 3	
<b>Recommendations made by the Board of Taxation and the Government's response</b>	47