APPENDIX ONE LIST OF PUBLIC HEARINGS AND WITNESSES

Page 2 Appendix One

LIST OF PUBLIC HEARINGS AND WITNESSES

6 August 1998 - Canberra

Australian Taxation Office

Butler, Mr David Edward, Deputy Commissioner, Small Business Income Carmody, Mr Michael, Commissioner of Taxation D'Ascenzo, Mr Michael, Second Commissioner Fitzpatrick, Mr Kevin James, First Assistant Commissioner, High Wealth Individuals Taskforce

Jones, Mr Bruce Sherman, Second Commissioner

Killaly, Mr James Michael, Deputy Commissioner, Large Business and International

Mellor, Ms Rona-Louise, Assistant Commissioner, Problem Resolution Service

14 September 1999 - Melbourne

Community and Public Sector Union

Girdler, Mr Paul Howard, Section Industrial Officer, Tax Section O'Connell, Mr Shane Patrick, Secretary, Tax Section

Australian Taxation Office

Guthrey, Mr David Lloyd, Section Counsellor, CPSU Tax Section

Australian Services Union

Lapidos, Mr Jeffrey, Secretary, Taxation Officers Branch Meynell, Mr Keith Albert, President, Taxation Officers Branch Thorburn, Mr John, Member

Arthur Andersen

Stolarek, Mr Anthony, Partner, National Tax Competence Wachtel, Mr Michael Howard, Tax Practice Director

15 September 1999 - Sydney

Kevin W. Fenwick

Fenwick, Mr Kevin William, Principal

22 September 1999 - Canberra

Leibler, Mr Mark Matthew (Private capacity)

13 October 1999 - Canberra

Australian Taxation Office

Farr, Mr Gregory Douglas, First Assistant Commissioner, Reform Program Office Zdjelar, Mr Peter, Acting Director, Fraud Prevention and Control Unit

20 October 1999 - Canberra

Australian Taxation Office

Bersten, Mr Michael Charles, Deputy Chief Tax Counsel

Appendix One Page 3

Holland, Ms Erin Kathleen, Assistant Commissioner, Small Business—Receivables Management
Meredith, Mr Tom, Assistant Commissioner, Rulings
Peterson, Mr Brett Leslie, Assistant Commissioner, Small Business
Smith, Mr Peter Gerard, Assistant Commissioner, Small Business

2 November 1999 – Sydney

Minter Ellison

Aitken, Mr Michael Robert, Tax Partner

Office of the Special Tax Adviser to the Commonwealth Ombudsman

McPherson, Miss Catherine Mary, Special Tax Adviser Stewart, Mr Raymond Allan, Director, Investigations

Payne, Mr Andrew John (Private capacity)

Shingleton, Mr John Arthur (Private capacity)

17 November 1999 - Canberra

Office of the Special Tax Adviser to the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Haggstrom, Mr Peter Carl William, Former Special Tax Adviser

9 February 2000 - Canberra

Australian Taxation Office

Bersten, Mr Michael Charles, Deputy Chief Tax Counsel Carmody, Mr Michael, Commissioner of Taxation Farr, Mr Gregory Douglas, First Assistant Commissioner, Reform Program Office Fitzpatrick, Mr Kevin James, First Assistant Commissioner Granger, Ms Jennie, Assistant Deputy Commissioner, International Tax Division Killaly, Mr James Michael, Deputy Commissioner (Large Business and International) Monaghan, Mr Michael, First Assistant Commissioner (ATO Corporate) Smith, Mr Peter Gerard, Assistant Commissioner, Small Business