[CREST]

AUSTRALIAN SENATE

ECONOMICS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

CONSIDERATION OF LEGISLATION REFERRED TO THE COMMITTEE

EXCISE TARIFF AMENDMENT BILL (NO. 1) 1997

Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

AUSTRALIAN SENATE

ECONOMICS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

CONSIDERATION OF LEGISLATION REFERRED TO THE COMMITTEE

EXCISE TARIFF AMENDMENT BILL (NO. 1) 1997

JUNE 1997

ISSN 1326-9321					
This report was produced from camera-ready copy and was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra					

Commonwealth of Australia

MEMBERSHIP

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Core Members

Senator Alan Ferguson (Chairman) (Liberal Party - SA)

Senator Jacinta Collins (Deputy) (Australian Labor Party - VIC)

Senator Grant Chapman (Liberal Party -SA)

Senator the Hon. Peter Cook (Australian Labor Party - WA) Senator Andrew Murray (Australian Democrats - WA)

Senator John Watson (Liberal Party - TAS)

Senator Crane substitutes for Senator Watson on matters covered by the Industrial Relations portfolio. Senator Hogg substituted for Senator Sherry on 30 May 1997.

Participating Members

Senator E. Abetz (Liberal Party - TAS)

Senator M. Bishop (Australian Labor Party - WA)

Senator P. Bosyell (National Party of Australia OLD)

Senator R. Boswell (National Party of Australia - QLD)

Senator B. Brown (Australian Greens - TAS) Senator B.K. Childs (Australian Labor Party - NSW)

Senator B. Collins (Australian Labor Party - NT)

Senator M. Colston (Independent - QLD)

Senator S. Conroy (Australian Labor Party - VIC) Senator B. Cooney (Australian Labor Party - VIC) Senator J. Faulkner (Australian Labor Party - NSW)

Senator B. Harradine (Independent - TAS)

Senator K. Lundy (Australian Labor Party - ACT) Senator S. Mackay (Australian Labor Party - TAS)

Senator D. Margetts (WA Greens - WA)

Senator S. Murphy
Senator B.J. Neal
Senator K. O'Brien
Senator C. Schacht
Senator N. Sherry

(Australian Labor Party - TAS)
(Australian Labor Party - TAS)
(Australian Labor Party - SA)
(Australian Labor Party - TAS)

Secretary

Mr Robert Diamond Tel: (06) 277 3540 SG.64, Parliament House Fax: (06) 277 5719

Canberra ACT 2600

Research Officer: Graeme Fawns



CONTENTS

Membership of the Committee		iii
Abbreviations		vi
Background to the Inquiry		1
Effect of the Bill Government Response The Retrospective Intention of the Bill	2	1 1
Financial Impact Statement Summary of the Government Response at the Public Hearing	-	3
General Issues Raised in Evidence Equal Alcohol should equal Equal Tax Social Impact of Bill Retrospective effect of the Bill Other Issues		
Conclusions and Recommendation		12
Minority Report - Senator Jacinta Collins		13
Minority Report - Senator Andrew Murray		15
Appendix 1 - List of Submissions		17
Appendix 2 - List of Witnesses		19

ABBREVIATIONS

AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal

ACS Australian Custom Services

AODCA Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia

CUB Carlton United Breweries

DSICA Distilled Spirits Industry Council of Australia

ICA Institute of Chartered Accountants

LCA Law Council of Australia

RTD Ready-to-Drink

UDA United Distillers Australia