APPENDIX 2

Public Hearings

Thursday, 4 February 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary
Mr Barry Sandison, Acting Deputy Secretary
Mr Anthony Field, Group Manager, Legal and Compliance
Ms Cath Halbert, Group Manager, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination
Dr Bruce Smith, Branch Manager, Indigenous Policy
Mr Gavin Matthews, Branch Manager, Welfare Payments Reform
Mr John Litchfield, Branch Manager, Land Reform

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Copyright and Classifications Policy Branch Ms Sarah Chidgey, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch

Thursday, 11 February 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mitch Fifield Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Kate Lundy

Witnesses

Amnesty International Australia

Mr Mark Burness, Government Relations Manager Dr Robyn Seth-Purdie, Government Relations Advisor Mr Lucas Jordan, Research Officer Ms Monica Morgan, Campaign Officer Mr Gregory Marks, Consultant

Monday, 15 February 2010 Darwin Convention Centre, Northern Territory

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

Northern Territory Government Agencies

Mr Ken Davies, Chief Executive

Department of Housing, Local Government and Regional Services

Ms Clare Gardiner-Barnes, Acting Executive Director, NT Families and Children, Department of Health and Families

Mr Alan Green, Executive, Department of Education and Training

Mr Robert Kendrik, A/g Assistant Commissioner, Operations Services, NT Police Miss Elizabeth Morris, Deputy CEO, Policy Coordination, Department of Justice Mr Doug Phillips, Executive Director, Business Support,

Department of Business and Employment

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency

Ms Ruby Walker, Board Director for the Katherine Region

Mr Vernon Patullo, Board Director

Ms Hannah Roe, Board Director

Ms Annabel Pengilley, Welfare Rights Solicitor (Darwin)

Mr Jared Sharp, Advocay Manager

Ms Nadia Rosenman, Welfare Rights Solicitor (Katherine)

Northern Territory Legal Aid Commission

Ms Suzan Cox QC, Director

Law Society of the Northern Territory

Ms Barbara Bradshaw, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Barbie McDermott, Project Officer, Research and Policy

Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation

Ms Alana Eldridge, Chief Executive Officer

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory

Mr John Paterson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Chips Mackinolty, Manager of Policy and Stretegy

Fred Hollows Foundation

Ms Joy Mclaughlin, Manager, Indigenous Programs

Outback Stores

Mr Warren Bretag, Business Development Manager Ms Megan Ferguson, Health and Wellbeing Manager

Northern Land Council

Mr Kim Hill, Chief Executive Officer Mr Wali Wunungmurra, Chairman Mr Samuel Bush-Blenasi, Deputy Chairman

Wednesday, 17 February 2010 Chifley Alice Springs Resort, Alice Springs

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair)
Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair)
Senator Judith Adams
Senator Trish Crossin
Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

Central Land Council

Mr David Ross, Director Ms Jane Weepers, Senior Policy Officer Mr Daniel Kelly, Senior Solicitor Mr David Avery, Lawyer

Tangentyere Council and Central Australian Youth Link Up Service

Mr Tristan Ray, Manager Mr Blair McFarland

Mr Harry Nelson Ms Barbara Shaw Ms Elaine Peckham

Mr Richard Downs Mrs Valerie Martin Mrs Raelene Silverton

Central Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service

Ms Patricia Miller, CEO Ms Emily Webster Ms Lauren Walker Ms Elise Rivett

Northern Territory Council of Social Services

Ms Wendy Morton, Executive Director Ms Jonathan Pilbrow, Central Australian Policy Officer

Ngaanyatjarra Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Women's Council

Ms Vicki Gillick, Coordinator

Monday, 22 February 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

Western Australian Department for Child Protection

Ms Fiona Lander, Executive Director Ms Susan Diamond, A/g Director Child Protection

Western Australian Council of Social Services

Ms Sue Ash, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lorilee Beecroft, Senior Policy Officer

UnitingCare West

Mr Chris Hall, Chief Executive Officer Ms Melissa Del Borrello, Corporate Projects Officer

Thursday, 25 February 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

National Welfare Rights Network

Ms Katherine Beaumont, President Ms Genevieve Bolton, NWRN Delegate Mr Gerard Thomas, NWRN Delegate Ms Liz Turnbull, NWRN Delegate

Law Council of Australia

Mr Nick Parmeter Dr Sarah Pritchard

Dr Peter Billings Dr Anthony Cassimatis

ANU College of Law and ANU National Centre for Indigenous Studies

Adjunct Professor Peter Bailey, Adjunct Professor Ms Jo-Anne Weinman, Research Associate, National Centre for Indigenous Studies Mr Ernst Willheim, Visiting Fellow

Friday, 26 February 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Mark Furner

Witnesses

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Professor Paul Smythe, General Manager, Research and Policy Centre Ms Amy Stockwell, Head, Government Relations

ANGLICARE Australia

Ms Kasy Chambers, Executive Director

St Vincent de Paul

Dr John Falzon, Chief Executive Officer Mr Jonathan Campton, Research Officer

Salvation Army

Major David Eldridge, Territorial Social Program Director Ms Wilma Gallet, Strategic Adviser

UnitngCare Australia

Ms Karen Bevan, Director of Social Justice Ms Susan Helyar, Acting National Director

Australian Council of Social Services

Hon Clare Martin, Chief Executive Officer Mr Peter Davidson, Senior Policy Officer Ms Jacqueline Phillips, Policy Officer

Human Rights Commission

Mr Mick Gooda, Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander Social Justice Commissioner Mr Graeme Innes, Disability Discrimination Commissioner and Race Discrimination Commissioner

Mr Darren Dick, Acting Director, Policy and Programs Ms Christine Fougere, Deputy Director, Legal Services

Professor John Altman

Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning (Research Unit), University of Technology, Sydney

Ms Alison Vivian

Combined Pensioners and Superannuants Association of New South Wales Inc.

Ms Charmaine Crowe

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary

Mr Barry Sandison, Acting Deputy Secretary

Mr Anthony Field, Group Manager

Mr John Litchfield, Group Manager, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination

Ms Cath Halbert, Group Manger, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination

Mr Gavin Matthews, Branch Manager, Welfare Payments Reform Dr Bruce Smith, Branch Manager Ms Elizabeth Stehr, Branch Manager, Money Management

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Sarah Chidgey, Assistant Secretary Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary